Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 54486
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 1-1
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 54486
Region: Lower North Island

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 17, 2017

We are a market garden under certified conversion to organic status who supply some of the region's and Wellingtons top chef's and eateries. We produce artisan and heirloom vegetables, salads, herbs and flowers.
We will be looking for preferably one person to stay for approx a week at certain times through the year to be an extra pair of hands, be that with the market garden, harvesting, sowing seeds, transplanting, packing orders or with the children, doing craft projects, playing games, taking them for walks, helping in the house with meals, chores and childcare.
We live on the edge of Carterton, walkable distance to town but are surrounded by the countryside. We have a swimming pool which is a must for the long hot dry Wairarapa summers. You will have a room to yourself and share of the main bathroom and toilet.
Three meals are provided a day, we have a fridge if there is anything extra you wish to chill. We ask for our volunteers to be involved in the food prep and tidying away, we don't expect yo have to call you for dinner and then you disappear off afterwards. We don't provide alcohol but have no problem with your drinking your own as long as it does not affect your work the next day. No smoking or Drugs allowed. We provide WIFI, please ask before downloading in case it clogs up the system, laundry facilities. We have two living areas and many outside areas to find a quiet nook if you are after some peace and quiet but we would also like our guests to come and join us for a cup of tea and chat rather than shutting yourselves away.
Our youngest daughter has special needs so lots of patience with her is needed, an interest in learning more would be great. She needs kind and gentle people around her otherwise she gets scared.
Our older two are homeschooled so are around ALL the time, but like people who will interact with them, help with craft projects, play with them etc, but please do help them clear up afterwards!
We need good english speakers so that the children are able to include you and play with you.
We work long days, my husband works our of the house and is often away for long periods at a time, so I need someone who can work without direction and be trusted to be left on their own if I have appointments with the children.
We ask for approx 4-5 hours a day, if you would like to work extra some days and have the following day off that is fine with some notice. Normally it would be 4 hours but we like some flexibility if things are running overtime etc. On top of this we ask for help with meals, prep and clearing away, general chores that are part of family life.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use