Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 54488
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4
Persons: 2 single or 2 couple
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 54488
Region: South Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 16, 2018

Sally and I (Lynn) live on a lifestyle property in the hills south of McLaren Vale. We have lots of fruit trees, large vegetable gardens, a paddock being rehabilitated with local tree planting and a flock of chooks and a 5 year old Red Heeler dog named Hilly who loves people. Kangaroos and birdlife abound and we have the occasional visiting echidna.
We are developing a B&B on the property which also provides accommodation for our working guests when we don't have paying guests- 2 double bedrooms, shared bathroom and large lounge with TV, combustion heater, pool table and kitchen facilities. Helpers are expected to keep the guesthouse clean. There is always lots of work to do outside - retaining walls, paving, planting, weeding, collecting and stacking firewood, etc. Depending on what is happening at the time we may have painting, fruit picking or pruning, netting trees, compost preparation or fence repair.
We don't allow smoking or drugs anywhere on the property and we are very flexible when it comes to work hours. We look for about 4 hours per day on average but you can arrange to do more some days and have days off to explore or go to the beach or do a bit every day and have afternoons off maybe. We just like to be clear and establish up front what is expected.
We are also flexible with meal arrangements. Mostly we will share evening meals but we have cooking facilities in the guesthouse if you prefer or on occasions when we are not available. We will provide some lunch and breakfast provisions and we have plenty of fresh eggs and vegetables from our garden most of the time.
We prefer stays of 1 week initially with a view to extending by mutual agreement. We love to meet new people and share a laugh and a drink or two.
We are 30 minutes to beach and less than an hour to Adelaide by car. You will need a vehicle if you want to be independent as there is no public transport nearby. It is only a few minutes drive to Willunga which is our local town but it's a long walk. We can do drop-offs and pick ups sometimes. There is much to see and do in the district though - whale watching, wine and food in the Fleurieu, scenic drives, walks or bike riding.
It is a beautiful area and our place is very quiet at night.

We are particularly interested in someone with handyman or building skills at the moment as we have a shed to rebuild and paving and retaining to do.

If you want to experience a tranquil rural location and help us on the property to pay for your keep we would love to hear from you.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use