Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 54681
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: No
Area (ha): 1.6
Persons: 4
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 54681
Region: Southland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 29, 2018

My name is Craig. I'm a children's author and songwriter. I have a young daughter.

My holiday home is located 70km from the nearest shops {Manapori and Te Anau} in the far south western corner of the South Island. It's only a few km from fiordland national park and lake Monowai. 2 hours and 15 mins drive from Queenstown heading south west. My log cabin has 3 bedrooms, and lots of land. Because it's my holiday home I don't get to look after the land as much as I would like so I need some help to clear the land.

I am willing to supply accommodation (your own room) in the 3 bedroomed log cabin, 3 meals a day and all the local advice for walks etc in your down time in exchange for 4 hours of work per person per day.

Because of it's proximity to Fiordland national park some of the best and secluded walks and treks are located just a few km away. Work is predominately "on the land" clearing weeds and small bush.Planting native trees and Flax. Lawn mowing,. Things of this nature. Although I may be after some child minding from time to time for if and when I have my daughter also. It's best that you have transport to get here however depending on the nature of your travels I may be able to offer you a ride from Queenstown if the timing is correct or from Te Anau if you can get yourself there. My main house is in Queenstown and I tend to visit this location in the summer months and on occasion in the winter. This place has been in my family since it was built in 1974 :) . Currently there is NO internet or phone access although this can be obtained with a 5 minute drive.

Photos on my profile are of {from top left to right} 1.The log cabin front lawn, looking from the nor east to south west. 2.{top middle} Lake Monowai from Cleughearn Peak looking from south west into the north east. 3. {Top right} the signs from the main road that you turn off from to get to lake Monowai. 4. {bottom left} Looking at the log cabin from across the lagoon {that you can kayak on... yes I have kayaks :} looking from east to west. 5. My daughter , myself and a fish I caught near by. 6. My daughter and I getting back to the log cabin from a walk. looking from south west to north east.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use