Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 54709
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 52
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 54709
Region: Tasmania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 4, 2017

We have been on our property for only 2 years (though have owned it for 5) so there's lots of new projects to do.

We are growing a range of fruit and nut trees (still young), garlic (our first crop for sale, see photos) and a range of veggies. This Spring we added bees and chooks to the mix and soon hope to complete the outer fencing project to allow us to graze livestock and sell organic hay. We have a small herd of goats for milking and a few sheep to keep the grass down in the house paddock. Projects for the coming year are to build a small accommodation pod using local materials including claylight straw (for future HelpX's, WWOOFERS and visitors) and extending the decking on our cabin. A key part of our philosophy is a focus on soil through biodynamics, composting and other organic inputs. Soil testing shows we are building soil carbon and balancing minerals and soil chemistry in the places where we've begun.

Our cabin is a cosy and basic wood stove heated cabin which we share with our 15 year old son. Your accommodation is a private tent area under cover (with floor and walls on 3 sides). Here are 2 tents each with a double mattress, power and light etc. If a room inside a house is important to you, we might not be the best place for you though the expansive views from around the property more than make up for it. Bush camping is also a good option in summer. We have plentiful hot water for baths and showers. We've had 3 people WWOOF with us last year (for 2 weeks each) and 3 people HELP-X with us this year (also for 2 weeks each) and we have loved it as have they.

The best thing about our property is it's location. There are distant views of Cradle Mountain (a great day trip) and great views of Lake Cethana which is fun for boating, fishing, kayaking and swimming. Our community is also pretty special being off grid and predominantly organic with wonderful neighbours and a local co-op and hall for recreation including Saturday coffees and Sunday yoga. There is also an Art Studio in the community and Dorje Ling (a long standing and beautiful Buddhist Retreat). The community is also quite tucked away so you'll feel completely surrounded by nature and town is about 45 mins away.

Our son is home schooled (as are all the valley kids) and is happy to share the piano, a game of chess or a fishing adventure if that appeals. We enjoy good food including locally sourced meat and an active social life in the community.

We are looking for helpers who are interested in this way of life and who may enjoy work including the varied aspects of gardening (from building soil to harvest to food preparation), fencing and small building projects, farm chores, and basic animal care (cat, rabbit, guinea pigs, sheep, goats, chooks, ducks and bees if you are keen).

We can cater for some dietary needs but maybe not all, so pls let us know if you have any.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Susan and Andrew

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use