help exchange   Host 54758
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 50
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 54758
Region: Mid Atlantic

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 30, 2020

A little about us... we are a young couple (late 20s) with four children under the age of eight. We have two inside dogs and a cat as well as a LGD (livestock guardian dog) in the field. We love to learn about other cultures and are very accepting of all people in all situations. We are a developing farm that focuses on sustainability and integrity farming. We like creative solutions and believe that out-of-the-box thinking is a good thing. While we aren't considered "organic" we do use holistic medicines, use non-chemical home products and focus on healthier animals.

What do we do? Currently, we are developing a new properties (so putting in fencing and spring development & converting a building into a deer processing facility), raising goats and rabbits as well as building a market garden. We process rabbits and poultry on our farm and help other farmers under state exemption. We are attempting to hone in our gardening skills. We tan and taw hides from our animals. We make our own natural homemade cleaning products and preserve our harvests in various ways.

What would we like from a helper? Most importantly a positive attitude and eagerness learn. Active participation in day-to-day animal operations, assistance with gardening and construction. Depending on your length of stay and timeline of stay your assistance in the butchering process may be requested but not required.

Accommodations: We live remotely with semi off-grid conditions. There is a guest cabin in the works and should have a camper. Meals would typically be eaten communally but the living quarters would be seperate for helpers privacy.

When are we looking for someone and for how long? We would like to bring someone or a couple on in late spring early summer of 2020. We would prefer that the minimum stay is 2 weeks and the maximum stay would be determined by volunteer and host.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use