help exchange   Host 54837
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: No
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 54837
Region: Mid Atlantic

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 1, 2020

Currently seeking volunteers for the following

Baltimore, MD


I have a tastefully restored classic row-house in Baltimore, Maryland.

I am a professional in my early forties who works full time in Washington, DC and owns a home in Baltimore, MD. The Baltimore home is a restored 19th century townhouse and I have five bedrooms that I share with roommates. Since I work full time and spend a lot of time commuting, sometimes I need some help keeping the home clean and with errands like trash/recycling and dishes.

As for me, I speak conversational Spanish and some French, and can read any Romance language. I work in International Finance and have traveled the world and I love meeting people from new places. I am friendly and get along well with people, though I do expect that work will be performed with a good work ethic. I hope to meet many new people from this experience and have something mutually beneficial!

More info about the assignment:



The accommodation is a private bedroom, which is comfortable in space and decoration. The house is a restored late 1800's townhouse in the city. It has attractive decor and is clean. The neighborhood is urban but generally safe, within 3 blocks of the main campus of Johns Hopkins University and Baltimore Museum of Art (Picasso!)


As for food, what I do is I provide basic food components: proteins, vegetables, carbohydrates and the sauces/spices necessary to flavor them. For example:

Frozen meat, poultry, fish. I have a large chest freezer in the house, with large bags of frozen chicken breasts, frozen fish, and frozen meat. The helper can use it for cooking for me as well as themselves, along with unlimited eggs, which I put in the special refrigerator reserved for the volunteer and myself. I will give a stipend as necessary to get necessary additional perishable items such as milk/eggs, as well as for fresh vegetables and/or will provide trips to Aldi, the grocery store.

Canned/frozen vegetables, which I will place in your dry goods area in the cabinets (everyone has a labeled area) I will continuously stock this area and the freezer for the frozen vegetables. Fresh vegetables can be purchased from the farmer's market with the weekly stipend.

Unlimited rice and pasta. I have a large canister of brown rice, and white rice, right next to a rice cooker. I also buy pasta boxes all the time, various shapes (penne, fusili, rigatoni, spaghetti, etc.), and you are free to boil these.

//Spices & Condiments//
A large variety of them. They are in the common area and helpers are encouraged to use them to spice up the proteins/vegetables/carbohydrates when they cook for themselves.


Unlimited access, I have a large coffee station next to the kitchen, and a tea station in the kitchen with an electric kettle.

If you want to get some of your own organic groceries or go out to eat, you can purchase those and there is a grocery store within walking distance and there a wide array of restaurants at every budget level.

Things to do:

//Baltimore, Maryland//

There are so many things to do in Baltimore and the region I can't really put it all in here. I can give more specifics with some feedback from the traveler and narrow it down. There’s discos, there’s opera, musicals, and yoga centers. Baltimore is a city with ~1 million people so there’s many things to do. Plus, There is a string of cities DC, Baltimore, Philadelphia, New York, Boston, which are all in a row on the bus and train lines, as well as Richmond, Charlotte, Charlotte, Atlanta to the south, also on the bus/train lines. Baltimore is a bigger city, but it’s more of a typical American city than NYC, DC, Miami, San Francisco; if you want to see a more typical American daily life.


For Baltimore, I need more typical domestic help,

1. Trash/Recycling

Making sure the indoor receptacles are emptied into the outdoor and ensuring those are placed at the curb and retrieved on collection day.

2. Dishes

Tenants must wash their own dishes but volunteer will put the clean/dry ones in the dish rack away. The kitchen is highly used so this may need to be done once in the morning and once in the evening.

3. Cooking

I need 4 lunches prepared for taking to the office. I have lunch size tupperware containers. Need main protein, one carb and one veggie.

4. Restocking paper products

Paper towels, napkins, and toilet paper run out frequently and need to be restocked from my supply cabinet. I also have soap dispensers that need to be monitored and topped up before they run out.

5. Light cleaning - I have a maid that comes biweekly to do more deep cleaning, but daily maintenance, like quick vacuuming in the living room and bathrooms to remove any dust or hair. Straightening of pillows on sofa and centering rug (I have a thing about that).

6. Simple errands - picking up drycleaning, purchasing small items at the hardware store, etc.

==Required Skills==

Candidates must be able and willing to:

1. Lift up to 50lbs:

Moving furniture around like lamps, bed frames, and dressers (with help). Moving household goods around from within the house as well as to and from the truck are a regular occurrence.

2. Speak conversational level English:

While perfect English is not required, I do require that candidates have at a minimum conversational abilities. This is because part of the duties require speaking with people like plumbers, electricians, furniture people, carpet people, etc. So while this assignment allows an opportunity to improve one’s level of English, basic conversational ability is needed to perform the tasks.

3. Basic cooking skills:

Cooking for the host and occasional visitors, using the food provided. Cooking dinners a few nights a week, with enough left over to pack lunches etc. Updated, I won't need to be cooked for as frequently as I am taking care of myself. But will advise if I'd like a meal cooked up.

Optional but Desired

- Home maintenance/Construction - Some advanced knowledge of home maintenance, such as, drywall, painting, basic plumbing, carpentry, tile work, etc.

===Personal and Professional Qualities===

To set expectations upfront, below describes the kind of volunteers that would be a good fit.

I am seeking intelligent, self-motivated and enthusiastic helpers. Good interpersonal skills and independent problem-solving skills are essential. Candidates are expected to be honest and trustworthy, as well as reliable and disciplined. Cleanliness, in the assigned space, in shared spaces, and with personal appearance, are all required.

Candidates who would not be a good fit are:

excessive alcohol consumption or stoners
those who wish to be away from the house all the time
slow, unmotivated
poor social skills or hygiene
excessively demanding, entitled
require complete and total direction on every task.

Additionally, anyone who just generally is looking for a free ride wouldn’t be a fit. I have dismissed volunteers before and have no problem doing so if there is an issue; but the vast majority of the time I have had great people. I find it helps to be very clear and upfront about expectations in the beginning, to make the experience better for everybody.


Baltimore is a really fun city with a ton of things to do, and is well located to visit DC or NYC by train/bus, even within the same day.

Currently I am only looking for single person volunteers. Thanks for looking!

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use