help exchange   Host 54879
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Zlatibor
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.1
Persons: 1
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 54879
Country: Serbia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 8, 2019

Dear helpers,

I moved to the mountain, southwest Serbia, 220km from Belgrade, close to the border with Bosnia and Montenegro. Old grandpa's cabine needs renovating. There is lot of work to be done and all of it needs a pair of hands to complete. I can't see where is the end yet, not do I want to. Enjoying one step at the time. I am fixing this place to be more accommodating for living, better isolated, a bit more spacious, changing floors, building the wall and a fence, installing the water (just dug the well, 46 meter deep this fall).

Here, for heating I use a version of a rocket stove, so it can be nice and warm regardless of an outside temperature. The projects are: a wooden shed, a bathroom/kitchen extension, water installation (right now I am getting the technical and drinking water from the nearby spring 500m away) building the stone wall from the rocks we find, chopping wood for fire, building the chicken coop (yes I became veggan here on the mountaine) etc. I try using as much of natural materials as I possibly can, and doing things myself as much as I know and can.

The conditions are still a bit raw and rough. But, hey, I am a rather spoiled city guy living here for a year and surrviving so I am sure you could too :)

There is a room for you with a bed or two and a high speed wifi (from 8pm-10pm), vegetarian/vegan food bought localy (all organic as much as possible). I eat simple, like a Buddhist monk (but without moderation).

Food: there is one main common meal (lunch). Breakfast, you eat what you prepare for yourself from the food available. Also if you want diner same applies like for the breakfast, but I aim not to eat after 6pm.
If you cook the lunch I wash the dishes, if you just eat then the opposite would apply. I aim to rat as much raw food as I Can, but hey this is s mountaine and I do as I can.

Also staying away from the industrial, packaged food and products. If you want to consume chocolates and candies do it outside of the house or when you go to the city (because if I snif it, it will be gone in a second or two) :)

The closest nearby city is 7km away. There is a bus several times a day but not often. There is a shorthcut over the hill by the foot which is about 5km walk. The city of Zlatibor is a small but rapidly growing turistic center.

Also, here, there are 4 raised organic beds for no till-permaculture gardening, but for the most part that will wait for the later in spring time (till May).

I can accommodate one person (max two). I do not smoke nor do drugs nor drink alcohol (glass of wine, beer, or brandy once in a rare while happens). I do yoga few times a week and sometimes daily.

If you choose to come, work would be 5 hours a day and 6 days a week.

We work during the daytime. If you need a place to stay for only a few days that is ok (let's say a 3 nights minimum stay and 3 weeks maximum stay). If you are a couple let me know maybe we can arrange something as well.

There are few animals, cats and dogs, they are running around and if it is too cold I let the cat sleep inside.


If any of this sounds good to you, please go ahead and send me a message and let's go on from there.

Welcome!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use