Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 54916
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

New Plymouth
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 7ha 18acres
Persons: 2 singles/ a couple
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 54916
Region: Taranaki

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 6, 2018

OK, so we are a late fifties couple, with one cat and no kids, living on 18 acres of paradise just 6km from central New Plymouth, in the second best place in the World to visit, according to Lonely Planet.

We currently have cattle, chooks and bees. We plan to have sheep, as soon as we get some more fencing done.

Things that happen here are; caring for the chooks, collecting pine cones, moving the cattle daily, caring for the bees, making hay and silage, gardening to feed us, making jam, relish, and other preserves, cutting firewood, spraying weeds, extracting honey, and all sorts of other things that go into being as self sufficient as possible. All obviously dependent on the time of year and the weather.

Current, planned projects include a tunnel house for winter veggies, fencing along the driveway, replacing a barberry hedge with a better shelter belt and a lot of other things that happen each day in running a small block. All FUN.

Our understanding of HelpX is 4 hours work per person per day, for three meals and a bed. We understand there are other arrangements, but we would be happy with the above, or a variation of it.

We would prefer people with their own transport.

We have wireless internet; mobile coverage is probably about 97%; no land line.
We do not have TV set up to use.

The accommodation is in the main house, at one end being two bedrooms and the main bathroom, separated from our end by the lounge, dining, kitchen area.

Regarding dietary needs, we are certainly meat and three vege people; if you have special requirements you will need to arrange that yourself.
We are a non smoking house hold.

We are very easy going people.
An acquaintance recently described us as, "a very down to earth couple, who also have an appreciation for the Earth, that we are taking care of". That fits.

Taranaki is a fairly small place; from our place, 30 minutes will see you at a number of surf breaks; 40 minutes will see you ready to climb Mt Egmont or tramp some of the many tracks around it, in town many side walk cafe's, the coastal walk way, Pukekura Park, Paritutu Rock and the Len Lye centre all beckon.

We look forward to sharing our home with any "can do", "give anything a try", type people. Look forward to seeing you.

Cheers Chris and Karen

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use