Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 54931
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Ashhurst
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 200
Persons: 1 or couple
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 54931
Region: Lower North Island

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 9, 2018

Hello! Lambing and Calving Help!

We are a married couple in our mid-thirties. Anna is expecting our first child in September so we are looking for extra help over lambing and calving to ease the workload.

Jobs would include feeding and caring for orphan lambs, and possibly calves. Assisting with other lambing duties such as bringing ewes back to the shed in the quad bike trailer. Other jobs would involve feeding farm animals such as our free-range pigs and piglets, chickens, and cows etc. For a couple, there are also other tasks available such as in the flower and vegetable garden, possibly some small interior painting jobs, among other things. We have 300 Sheep and 80 Cattle, plus the pets!


We have had 2 Helpx experiences and both have been very enjoyable. We would be needing someone(s) from mid July until the end of August with the option of staying on until mid to late September.

We would like a friendly individual or couple with a good sense of humor, practical skills and common sense. The ability to prepare a meal, if required, would be great. The farm work involves some lifting, i.e. hay bales and handling sheep. For example, Anna weighing 54kg and 163cm tall manages all the tasks but will obviously be restricted in what she can do in late pregnancy.

We are aware of the traveling experience and don`t work our helpers hard or unfairly. We leave it up to yourselves to manage hours and a routine. We really look after those with a good work ethic.

You must be fond of animals! We have a lovely river nearby (Pohangina), the Ruahine Forest Park plus many activities not too far away. Mt Ruapehu, for snow sports, is approximately 2hrs drive.

Accommodation is a sleep-out off the main house with new en-suite and good heating. Wifi is available, a hot tub is situated right next to the sleep-out and there is a basic gym set up in the woodshed with rubber floor.

Palmerston North is 35 minutes drive away. Feilding is 30 minutes and Ashhurst is 15 minutes.

We have great views from the house and a relaxing atmosphere here, with plenty of fresh healthy food and cold beer in the fridge.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use