help exchange   Host 55201
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 55201
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 8, 2019

Hi there!
I discovered helpx when I was travelling in new Zealand and now that I have a place to call home, I would love to keep this travelling feeling that you'll bring with you!

I live in a nice brick house and need and hand to bring back this old lady to her best potential.
The house need some indor refreshment. I don't know yet all I want to do in there but there'll be some wall painting involve for sure.
I have a garden too if you prefer working outside and if the weather allows it. I really want to do something out of it, grow some of my food there... Do you know anything about permaculture?
I also would like to build a cold frame or a greenhouse made from reused material.
If you like cooking, I'm always curious to try different food. I'm used to eat meat and try to reduce my meat consumption but I have hard time to cook meat free meals so if you are vegetarian or vegan, I hope you can share tricks or recipes!
I would like you to work 3 to 4 hours a day and 5 days a week but it's flexible if you want more free time on a day.

The house is quite far from public transportation, shops and facilities so you need to have your own vehicle to come.

You'll be sleeping in your own room but it's a share bathroom. I live with two cats but your room is in the "cat free zone" of the house.
It's a no smoking house. You will be offered three meals a day (if you prefer vegetarian or vegan meal it's ok but I don't know much about cooking without dairy and eggs... so you'll have to cook it)
I have good and illimited internet access in the first floor (not the bedroom)that you can use for work or calling home...

I don't know if this is a fair trade but here are the skills I can share with you if you're interested :
- French language
- cake recipe
- knitting, sewing and yarn dyeing (self taught and enthousiastic)

In your free time, you can enjoy the calm in the house, the countryside.
I live just on the edge of a large forest, with good paths for walking, biking, running, meditation, wildlife gazing...

They are some cultural activities around (not in a walking distance!)
- Matisse (painter) museum
- Familistère (remains of a social utopia by Godin)
- old castle (XVI century)
- WW1 cemeteries and landmarks.
- fortified churches
- fabric and lace museum
- brewery
And probably plenty of other things I haven't yet discover!

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use