Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 55287
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): Suburban
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 55287
Region: Tasmania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 3, 2017

I'm Kate, I live 20 min walk from the centre of Hobart. "Petty st" is the name of our big beautiful family, which embraces all the friends who came by and lived in the Petty st house over the years. The first wwoofer/helper who came here arrived in 98'. Since then part of our big world wide family here is already more than 300 people. Each one added a great energy and value to the house.
We live communally in the city and share the garden with our two cats, and the chooks. The house is big and comfortable, visitors and friends are always passing by. Outside of the house there is a big sunny garden, with fruit trees and organic vegetables.
My main focus is on sustainability. My passion in life is natural dyeing of clothes and fabrics, designing and deconstructing garments. Once a week, on Saturday, I set up my Salamanca market stall in Hobart - a market for local and artisan products, food and clothes. At the stall I sell my designs, recycled clothes, clothes I dye, clothes I recreated from used fabrics. Saturday is our favourite day of the week and the most important day for outside help.
Thus people with sewing skills and interest in creative pursuits are most welcome. We have lots of projects that are going on at the moment, and there is a place for your own creativity. We would love to have your creative ideas and help.
Stay and work are negotiated as fair exchange between equals. We create our lives around the principals of love, generosity, fun and responsibility.
Activities included revolve around the house, dyeing, sewing and gardening. There is a wide variety of changing activities. Its all depends on what you are good at, what has to be done, and what you would love to do.
We eat simple, healthy, largely vego food. People who like cooking are more than welcome to express themselves in our nice cozy kitchen which has a view on West Hobart and the ocean.
Welcome left-leaning workers, artists and meditators.
GLBTIQ- friendly.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use