Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 55438
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


värtsilä
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): .25
Persons: 2 couple/buddies
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 55438
Country: Finland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 3, 2018

We are further north than Anchorage, Alaska, and further east than Istanbul, Turkey. Clean waters, pure air and endless forests and waterways to explore, on the Finnish border with Russia. White nights in the summer and northern lights in the winter. It is extremely quiet up here in a fairly isolated village.

Independent Textile Artist and Craft Maker/Luthier couple need help running projects and maintaining a large wooden riverside property in North Karelia, Finland.

Karoliina is a working Textile Artist and Rod mainly repairs stringed musical instruments. (violins, cellos etc.) but also makes a variety of craft including glass jewellery, ceramics, turned wood, etc.

Things to do: At the moment we are really busy with different projects so need help with house work and cooking and in the garden...

We have geo-thermal heating so no need to chop wood except for sauna. :o)

There is an Art/Craft/Ceramics workshop/studio available for your use by prior arrangement, including a DIY printing press and all the tools for intaglio, engraving etc. Also a variety of different musical instruments for you to play and other toys...
You will have free use of a wood fired Sauna, Canoe, Fishing gear and Bicycles. For the winter we have a selection of traditional wooden skis for you and the local ski track starts from the front yard.

Shared accommodation with your partner/buddy in the craft studio. Children Welcome! You will have your own kitchen, toilet and front door and shared shower/sauna. Free Wi-Fi, but streaming music or video is very sketchy out here on the edge of the Taiga, and best not attempted. :o)

Basically self-catering, we'll provide all the food you need according to your specification, but also, depending on what is going on, we share meals together. We try to eat organic, local produce whenever possible and depending on the season there is garden produce and forest foraging :o)

5 hours per day, 5 days per week, best suited to a stay of two weeks or more. We expect you to take responsibility for your working hours. If you want to go somewhere for a couple of days and then make it up later, that is fine, but you have to keep track of things please :o)

No smoking inside the house please.

The border crossing point to Russia is 4km away, so think about a Russian visa while you are here. We drive across into Russia several times a month. Nearest shops are 20km away, but you can use the car if necessary, and there is a bus twice a day on school days. Pick-up/drop off at the nearest railway station, no problem.

We try hard to maintain our independence and integrity by sustainable practices, awareness of our global footprint and the privilege of being born and raised in the western world. We can't do anything to change the state of the world, but we do what we can by helping in our own capacity the most vulnerable in our society.

Photos: Us; House in winter; Looking from the front door; Morning swim; On the river; Dyeing wool with mushrooms...

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use