Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 55449
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4
Persons: 1 or 2 or a couple
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 55449
Region: Lower North Island

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 17, 2018

Hello, we are Rachel and Dennis. We live with our daughter Connor, aged 15 and son Hunter aged 13, on a lifestyle block on the edge of Pukaha Mt Bruce, a native bird reserve, as a result we receive visits from many native birds including Kaka, Tui and Kereru to our block. Also in the area are bush walks and some fishing.
We have a variety of animals, a friendly dog who lives outdoors, a cat who is mostly an outside pet, a house cow with her calves, horses, a small flock of sheep, a bunch of chickens and 2 hives of bees.

We are working towards becoming a self sustaining property and as a result at times we have interesting projects on the go such as cheese making, hide curing, etc, and a philosophy that if we can buy it in the shop, surely we can make it (although sometimes not, as it turns out). We enjoy good food and people who like to cook are always welcome. Please inform of any dietary requirements.

We have many projects including building, gardening, firewood and fencing as well as general farm maintenance that you would help with.
Dennis and I run a small concreting business, which will mean that you work independently at times. We expect 4-5 hours work a day but are flexible with your sightseeing and local touring and we are happy to take you on outings on weekends if you have no transportation.

You will be staying in a small self contained cottage (as shown in photo 6) which is close to the family home and has a comfortable queen sized bed with electric blanket, a sofa bed, a tv and plenty of books. We encourage our guests to socialize and eat with the family.

There is no cellphone coverage but there is a landline and some internet access available.
We would prefer a minimum stay of 3 days, and can arrange to pick you up and drop you off if you dont have your own transportation.

Please note this is a drug free property.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use