Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 55533
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: mid-May til mid-Oct.
Area (ha): 1 hectare
Persons: 1-4
Category: Other
Host ID: 55533
Region: New Brunswick

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 27, 2017

I have a hectare of land in a rural neighborhood in western New Brunswick that is part of a community land trust. The inhabitants of this neighborhood share the common goal of sustainability in our visions, and are at different stages of independent homesteading and/or homebuilding projects. I personally, am at early stages of home building. I am seeking volunteers beginning in mid-spring through fall to assist me in construction of 2 earthbag dome projects. The bulk of it is filling tubes of polypropylene bag with earth & clay, laying and tamping it in circles to create a dome. Other skills will be practiced: door and window forms, rough-in for plumbing & wiring, etc.

I'd be looking for a commitment of 5 hrs per day, 5 days per week.

I am a single mom of a fantastic 10-yr old boy, and we've committed to an off-grid, homesteading lifestyle, and the earthbag dome is our first project. While we build, we share a trailer with 3 cats, a few km from the build site. The trailer is on 3 acres, with stunning sunset and moonrise views. I can accommodate up to 4 tents (4 volunteers max) the backyard, which has a firepit, two picnic tables and a BBQ. Also a yoga trapeze hanging from a birch limb, not too far off in the woods, if you're into that kind of thing.

Volunteers would need to provide their own tents & bedding, and I would provide 3 meals per day, using an abundance of fresh local produce (we are lacto-ovo vegetarian, occasionally consume wild game, gluten free, 80% organic). I am a certified yoga instructor and will begin the days with a short practice to support the day's labor. Volunteers would also have access to our bathroom (including washing machine), kitchen access between meals, and high speed WiFi.

South Knowlesville is quite rural, despite being only about 30 minutes east of the Trans-Canada Hwy as it runs adjacent to the St.John River. A 20 min car ride north or south will bring you to nearest gas station/convenience store, through the villages of Glassville or Coldstream; and 10 minutes further will access you grocery/hardware/pharmacy/take-out and other such amenities: Florenceville or Hartland. We are about 1.5 hour drive north of capital of Fredericton. **Please be aware I don't drive, and closest bus pick-up / drop-off is Florenceville. We can discuss this, if this is how you're traveling. The distance between accommodations and work-site is 1.5 km, and can be easily traversed on foot or bicycle. If you can, do bring a bike!

Volunteers who arrive in May will have the pleasure of participating in our annual Kite Festival.

Those who arrive early June can participate in the annual permaculture/art/music festival: Praxis.

Fall in New Brunswick is gorgeous, and if you happen to visit us late Sept / early Oct the annual Country Fair will coincide with your stay.

Thanks for considering!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use