Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 55630
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Seasonal
Area (ha): 0.5 acres
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 55630
Country: Scotland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 28, 2018

We are located in the Highlands on the coast road of the Applecross Peninsula near the small crofting township of Kenmore, in a peaceful, rural location.

Help please from April - October. See below the list of help we ask from our guests.

We run a seasonal, small Artisan smoking business, set within the grounds and to the rear of our house. Also in the grounds we have a small self catering cottage which is let on a weekly basis, mainly from March to October.

The help we request varies daily, cleaning and maintenance in the Smokehouse premises once a week, and within the house weekly, help with maintenance of outbuildings and garden work, this might be one or two days a week, the garden is laid mostly to shrubs and grass. We both help with the tasks when not too busy with the preparation and sales of the smoked products.

Help please to clean and prepare the holiday cottage for a few hours on a Saturday morning. Also some help with general housework in the home during the week. If you are a keen cook then I would appreciate if you would assist with food preparation for the evening meal. All tasks are discussed with the hosts daily and could be weather dependent, so please be patient with us and the weather.

Help is required for up to 30 hours per week,with Saturday afternoon, Sunday and Monday as rest days. Days off may be changed by arrangement, however help on a Saturday morning needed.

In exchange we provide all meals and accommodation in our comfortable home. The bedroom has a double bed and is suitable for a single person or couple, who would share the shower room/toilet.

Provision is made for breakfast and coffee breaks, generally we have a packed lunch, where soup and sandwiches or similar are provided. We take our main meals together in the evening, unless you have other plans. If so, arrangements can be made for you to make your own evening meal.

We ask for guests to stay for a minimum of two weeks. We can be flexible with this arrangement, and your stay will be reviewed by both parties on a weekly basis.

We welcome guests who are able to work on their own and happy in our peaceful, rural, location.

Internet access is available and strong enough for WhatApp and Skype. The mobile phone signal is patchy but on walks outside the grounds is achievable. No smoking indoors. Not suitable for pets or children.

There is limited public transport. We would be able to pick up guests from Strathcarron Railway Station. There is also a mini bus service which passes the door 3 days a week, this goes to Inverness, departing around 08.20 hrs.

We have bikes which can be borrowed and for outdoors people the walks are tremendous, there are also various outdoor activities in the area.

A good level of English is required please for help with sales but not necessary.

If you are interested and would like to join us please contact us and we could make an arrangement for a Skype or Whats App call.

Look forward to hearing from you.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use