help exchange   Host 55703
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1.5 Acres
Persons: 1
Category: Other
Host ID: 55703
Country: Ireland (N)

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 14, 2017

Retired couple in the West of Ireland need help to create a Vegetable Garden, help tame our overgrown land (photo to follow), a few odd jobs around the house, and some help in building a wall and greenhouse. Your input and creativity would be greatly appreciated. We would require you to work between 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week (flexibility around days of week). There is no landline/ home phone, but we have unlimited internet that you can use.

About the Family:
As stated before we are a retired couple living in the West of Ireland with two grown up children, one of which is married and living away, and the other is waiting to return to University in September. We enjoy the quiet country life and have lived here for 19 years. I (Rita) enjoy baking, crafting, gardening and rock n' roll. Patrick my husband is a very skilled handyman, with a great sense of humour, and always busy with one project or another. Annalice (daughter waiting to return to Uni) will be spotted occasionally emerging from her study to eat, head out or off to work. Bear the family dog may be massive but is a real push over when it comes to attention and FOOD!

Male Handyman, 24 years of age and above welcome, non-smokers preferred. 3 main meals a day, eat as part of the family unit. Can cater for Vegetarians, diabetics, coeliac, so long as made aware before arrival. Plenty of opportunity for you to learn how to cook, or teach us how to create your favourite dish.
Sorry, no children or pets allowed, as have a BIG dog in residence, that doesn't like to share attention!!! He's named Bear for a reason. Therefore must be an animal-lover.

Local shop is 3km, but bikes are available for your use, both for local shopping and your days off. Our local town offers:
Post Office, Bank of Ireland, Library, Pubs for great food, Super Valu, Gym, Pharmacies, Cathedral, Baptist Church, Organic Food Store

Knock Airport is 20min drive from our house, can be picked up.
Dublin Airport is the next easiest access airport to our home, but means you have to catch a train or bus from Dublin to the nearest drop off point to us, so we could collect you.
Method 1: Airport bus to Connolly Station, Train to Boyle Station, pick up from Boyle, County Roscommon
Method 2: Airport bus to Heuston Station, Train to Castlerea Station, County Roscommon, pick up from Castlerea.
Method 3: Airport bus to Busaras, Bus Eireann bus to Ballaghaderreen (local town), pick up in town.
We can provide timetables for all of these methods of travel.

Places of local interest:
Local Gym (Health Quarters),Arigna Mines, Lough Key Adventure Forest Park, Carrick-on-Shannon, Westport House, Countrylife Museum, Boyle Abbey, Brochures are available on arrival.

We go shopping weekly to Roscommon Town, Carrick-on-Shannon, and your welcome to join us. Also welcome to join on family outings to places such as Sligo, Galway, Athlone.
Annalice attends the gym 5 days a week if you wish to go along to class or workout on your own (weight facility available).

Skills to offer you:
Electrical skills, Plumbing skills, Gardening skills such as when to take cuttings, potting on flowers, shrubs, composting, ect. Improve your English and learn a few Irish phrases.

We are open to learning new skills, languages and all about your culture.

Own warm, comfortable single bedroom with access to internet, bikes, family TV, DVD collection, books, lots of fresh country air. We also have fishing equipment that you can borrow and go fishing in our local rivers and lakes.

Feel free to ask as many question as you would like. We hope to hear from you soon, and be welcomed into our family.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use