Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 55745
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

South Auckland
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 8.5
Persons: 2 or family
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 55745
Region: Auckland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 15, 2017

Kia Ora,
This is a lifestyle block where we are working on regenerative agriculture and permaculture principles. Restoring a native wetland and growing nutrient dense food. We are a family with three children two of who are at school. Sam is a Chiropractor and is passionate about natural health practices. Jurjen is an electrical engineer and cabinet maker and is passionate about regenerative agriculture. Jurjen speaks Dutch and we are English speaking. Tasks vary from heavy scrub cutting, fencing and wetland planting, to renovating existing buildings, to light weeding and propagation work in the food garden and home chores such as tiding and cleaning. There are tasks for everyone.
We would love to welcome people who have an interest in eco practices, living in harmony with the environment and each other. We would ask that you have experience living away from home and are able to take care of yourselves. You will need to be fit and healthy as the majority of the work is on the land and is very physical. You will also need to be patient with children. We do not have a television and very poor phone reception, and internet is only available in the lounge of the family home.
We are driving distance to some beautiful areas but if you wish to explore these you will need your own vehicle.
We eat a nourishing whole foods diet that is gluten free. We do eat meat however vegans/vegetarians are welcome but will need to contribute more to their own food preparation. We prepare the dinner and generally eat dinner together but additional food will be supplied for lunch/breakfast for you to help yourselves to.
Our accommodation is very basic. We have a campervan in a meadow that is quaint and vintage but comfortable and separate from the house. It has solar power enough for two lights and enough to charge a phone but is otherwise very much like camping. The bathroom is shared with the family.
We look forward to hearing from you
Sam and Jurjen

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use