Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 55778
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Preveza/ Epirus
All Year: see below!!!!!
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 55778
Country: Greece

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 2, 2017

1. We need Volunteers from January - April/May and from end September/October to mid December... In the summer season we both work as skipper & hostess...
2. We are full until minimum beginning of November...

Who we are

We are Konstantinos and Marion, two enthusiastic, open-minded people at our first steps to create a self sustainable place here in the beautiful mountains near the coast.

Konstantinos is a professional skipper, skipper instructor and diver for 10 years. He is very talented in handcraft, art, engineering and technics all kinds and highly interested in permaculture and construction with alternative methods, like for example cob. (If you have any experience / knowledge with and about alternative construction methods, you found the right project to research, learn, experience and share knowledge!!!)
Marion is a professional occupational therapist, highly interested in all kind of natural healing/healing plants, permaculture,...After 8 years of working she quid and followed her heard, soul and the winds. She traveled and worked in different kinds of "jobs" 5 years around the world and found here in this peaceful, magic place a great homebase.

Where we live:

We live in a small, cute house (3 rooms, a kitchen and a bathroom) in a very small village in the mountains near the west coast with mostly elderly people. Here is no cafe or no super-/mini market. The next town is about 15 km from here, the sea straight line 7 km, by car 20.
We HAVE Internet and a car.
The house gets heated with wood at a big, great, open fireplace, and in the kitchen we have a so called "masina" (an amazing piece of steel artwork, for heating with wood, baking and cooking (we also have a gas cooker...)
The surrounding is stunning! A 360* view of mountains surrounding a big "valley" area, and we are close to the sea as well (which you can see from one of our lands...). Also lots of ancient areas are here around as for example Nikopoli, Kasopi, Zalogo, Nekromantio, 5 orthodox monasterys and a lot of tempels before and after Christ.
Here is a lot to explore and on some days we make great excursions in the area.
We both love to be out here in the nature, and if you share the love and also a life kind of "off grid", this is the right project for you!

Our farm

We have a garden, in which we grow almost all year long most of our daily food (vegetables and fruits, even kiwis and pomegranates), also a simple greenhouse and 2 ha land with around 200 olive trees for our own olive oil production.

Our vision

Our long term vision is to establish here in this beautiful place a community with permaculture and sustainability in everything needed. From destilling oil to making natural soaps to art to....... We have a long way in front of us but: the path is the goal!

Our next projects ideas, starting from autum 2017-may 2018 (and sometimes changing)

- upkeeping / cleaning / maintenance the house inside and outside
- building a stone wall (with gabions) around and in the property and the garden
- painting the house from out- and inside
- Olive harvest (~beginning of October preparation, mid October harvest for ~7-10 days)
- wood (cut/collect)
- building inside and outside kitchen (with cob)

If you have any experience / knowledge in permaculture, alternative construction, stone work, sustainability, grey water, generally in "off-grid" living and creating, you found a great place here and are more than welcome to live with us! We can host 2 persons, in exceptional circumstances maybe more. Pets are not allowed due to "our" 2 (and more of the surrounding) wild cats in which territory we live (also some dogs are passing by...).

What to expect

To make it clear - we are beginners, and every step we take is a trial as much as it is another brick in our progress. We gain experience as we work, research and connect with others. Be prepared for fluctuating between different roles we "play" every other day, like learning, teaching,experimenting end experiencing. A lot what we do here is new to us.
So if your up for a real experimental adventure / want share your knowledge / search for a place to experiment / live in the nature / learn,..... and a chance to help us get closer to our dream with positivity, peace, flexibility, patience and belief - then you have come to the right project!

You would be ask for 4-6 hours work per day 5 days a week (with flexibility... for example in the olive harvest it would be more, when its raining less) in exchange with twice a day food, accommodation and the chance to live with us, get new friends, learn, share, experience, live a nature based life.
The best time to come is from october to april / may, because so far in the summer we work also at the sea, other times needs to be discussed ...

Food and accommodation:

Our food is mostly homegrown and organic.
Depending how much volunteers we host at a time, we offer a simple shared room with two beds, or if you wish, you can also put up your tent in the garden.

We look forward to get an Email from you!!! (after email contact we can exchange telephone numbers!)

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use