Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 55870
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


New Plymouth
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 1 ,2,3 or 4
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 55870
Region: Taranaki

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 5, 2018

UPDATE : We have enough Helpex people with us at the moment. However.... if you are a VIDEOGRAPHER we can take you before then ( taking videos of me painting for my website ). For other Helpexers, we are booked up till NOVEMBER 2018 We will be looking for Helpex people from early November until December the 15th 2018 . We prefer that people stay about a week, although lots of Helpexers end up staying longer. We are flexible.


I'm an artist with a home gallery . We have a large house, sleepout, pool and a huge FALE (pool house in the first photo) My husband works in I.T. and is a keen rugby player. Our adult sons (also rugby players ) are 19 and 21 and 23. Pedro is at university in Wellington and Flynn is studying in Auckland. Dominic is playing rugby in Ireland for two years atm. Our daughter Adair(18) is studying Dunedin. Emilia( 27) is working in Auckland. We also have two disobedient small dogs called Ted and Archie. I enjoy talking to fun people from all over the world and if you are just learning to speak English, we are happy to explain things carefully.

We are easy going people and we just like to have hard working but cheerful people in our world. The rooms for HELPX people are ??varied '... We have a bedroom in the house that is usually available ( double bed ) We also have a warm sleepout with a double bed and two bedrooms in my painting workshop .There is a toilet out there and you can, of course, use the shower inside the house. And there??s the pool to cool off in. Our fale is huge and anyone can use it day or night. ( Helpex people in the fale in the last two photographs ) That??s where we read , eat, play table tennis and socialise over summer. We cook for vegetarians and meat eaters . We don??t cater for every dietary requirement .....so if you are vegan or have special dietary requirements.....I can provide most food for you but you can do your own cooking.

What we need help with IS .... HOUSE PAINTING inside and out, cleaning , sometimes studio photography of my paintings for my website (I have the photography gear) and GARDENING too. I can show you what to do ! If you have carpentry / building skills ( for small projects and repairing things ) that would be GREAT. We have a lots of tools and power tools here !

We expect four hours work a day in exchange for a place to stay and GOOD food. We prefer that our Helpex people work early in the day ...then go off exploring in the afternoons. But.....we can be flexible around hours....so that you can climb the mountain when the weather is good...go surfing etc. We are a sociable family....and it can get quite noisey and boisterous at times.

We usually take two or more people (either a couple or a group of friends) But we take ??singles?? too. Its best if you have your own car. Public transport to look at the sites in Taranaki is not good !

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use