Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 55966
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Castiglione P.
All Year: from May to June
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 55966
Country: Italy

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 18, 2017

My family owns a rural property with main house, orchard and nearby flat in the Apennines 60 km south of Bologna, between Bologna and Pistoia (Tuscany), 700 m above sea level. In a small rural village outside big commercial and touristic routes.
In the surroundings there are two nice lakes (the closest one is 10 km away) and a pleasant little town, Castiglione dei Pepoli (14 km). There is also an interesting XIX century castle (10 km).

Help is needed for painting two rooms completely, in a flat 30 meters from the house (two coats of paint) and for mowing the grass in the orchard, using a modern mowing machine. You are encouraged to apply if you are physically strong, have some experience with these activities and have a travel insurance. The helper is expected to be quiet, polite and well-adjusted; he/she will be hosted for one week. I love pets but unfortunately can't host them here.

You will be working for four hours and a half each morning from 8:30 to 13.00, six days out of seven, in a stress-free environment; the rest of the time is yours to enjoy the landscape and surroundings! The period is from May to June (to be defined in detail).

I offer a basic accommodation in the flat (which is simply furnished but clean), and good homemade meals, which will be taken in the main house (unless you are used to having meals on your own). In your free time, I am willing to take you to the closest lake or other nearby attraction; alternatively, I can take you to the closest train station by car twice, if you wish to visit Bologna (which can be reached in 1 hour by train) or Pistoia in Tuscany (1h 15 min. by train). I can also show you how to cook a typical bolognese dish, if you are interested! English spoken fluently.

Please be aware that the internet connection is very slow there and sometimes just not working (in any case you will need to bring your own device).
This opportunity is good for those who appreciate simple life and things in a healthy rural environment, where to experience a step back in time.

Please email for applying and for any further information!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use