Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 56000
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.05
Persons: 3
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 56000
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 21, 2017

Working towards sustainability, resilience, and local/community level self-sufficiency from this household on an urban block in Ballarat. Come and see sustainable living in action, while staying close to tourist attractions, transport, and urban amenities.

Property is 500m^2 (1/8 acre) with permaculture garden, fruit and vegetables, bees, chickens. Garden provides food for the household and for local community food-sharing initiatives.

Activities/work may include: pruning, mulching, planting, harvesting, food preservation, seed saving, simple building/carpentry (eg. pallet furniture), foraging, and miscellaneous "indoor" work such as cleaning or tool maintenance (especially if the weather is inclement). If you have specialised skills/experience I would love to learn from you, too!

Best/peak times for interesting work to do are September-November and February-April, but there is usually something to do year-round.

Accommodation is a private bedroom with a real bed - there is a single room and a double room available at present, so couples are OK. Shared bathroom. Wifi available. Food is "ethical omnivore" almost entirely from local sources; vegetarians can easily be catered for.

Your host is car-free (bike only) so no pickup is available from public transport. However, local buses run only a couple of blocks from the house so it's not hard to get to. There is sheltered and secure bike parking/storage if you arrive that way.

Note: you must be fluent in English.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use