Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 56065
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.4 (1 acre)
Persons: 1-2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 56065
Region: Taranaki

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 25, 2017

Hi there!

We are young family of 4 (2 daughters 5 & 2) looking for help around the house/section and with the kids in exchange for your own room (queen bed, wardrobe & set of drawers) and meals.

We are asking for roughly 4hrs work per day with days off for exploring etc. At this stage we are offering only up to a weeks stay but it is also totally negotiable. Kerry & I would love someone who's willing to try new things and learns quickly, and they must be great at communicating.
Aside from looking after the kids when necessary we are looking for someone who can help garden (nothing major) and doesn't mind washing windows etc. It would also be helpful although not necessary to find someone who knows how to work Mac computers as I am having trouble navigating ours! I'd like to sort through our photos and compile them into albums properly (perhaps a good rainy day job)
Over the summer we hope to finish painting the outside of our house so that too may happen upon your visit. We are pretty flexible. All we ask is that you are good with kids as this would be a make or break for us.
We have WIFI for your use although limited on the data you will be free to FB or Skype etc (no YouTube or downloading please)

We are in the country but also only 6mins from the closest town and 20mins to New Plymouth (city) so having a car may come in handy but not necessary as we can arrange local transport if needed.

We live in a comfortable 4 bedroom house with our dog Blaze (whos very friendly) & our cat Percy (who's a bit shy) just out of Inglewood.
It's very peaceful here, the birds chirp and the crickets sing. There are 9 resident Wood Pigeons (Kereru) living in our garden which come and go all spring/summer long. We also get a lovely view of the mountain (Mt Taranaki) which is a short drive away and lovely place to visit or stay.

Kerry (works as a tiler) is into hunting & fishing and is a general outdoors type, always working on something around the house. While myself (Hannah), I am a hairdresser who works locally part time. I am defiantly an inside type - I enjoy reading, movies and eating out! I love the sun though so am also happy traipsing about when the weather is good.

There is also the option of experiencing farm life as we have plenty of family near by who would be happy to show you a thing or two if you're interested.
We are surrounded by native bush and beautiful rivers - each with walking tracks.
There are plenty of trails about for tramping or just a quiet wander. We aren't tramping people but would definatly give it a go if it was something that interested our visitor. Camping is also an option!
We are also a 2 min drive from Stoney Oaks Wildlife Park which is a great day out getting up and close with the animals! Further down the road there is a wild Kiwi sanctuary where you may get to meet our native bird, have a picnic dinner & see the glow worms!

Taranaki is surrounded by the sea and we have some of the most amazing beaches in the country - black sand!
There are many cultral and regional areas of interest all around us, we have a great mueseum, beautiful coastline and various places to show you the history of our country and our region.
We will gladly show you around our beautiful region or point you in the right direction if you'd prefer.

Please inform us prior of any food requirements you may have and we look forward to meeting you!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use