Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 56083
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Silves (Algarve)
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 1
Category: Other
Host ID: 56083
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 26, 2017

My name is Ricardo, I am 55 years old. I live with my dog on an old farm in the Algarve in the middle of nature.
I am single, I don’t smoke and drink.
I want to make my farm a place where young and old can enjoy and rest after periods of stress, this can be after hospital treatment of just for a holiday in nature.

I need flexible helpers that can help me rebuild and renovate the present buildings and garden to a small nature paradise.
I also need help looking after the place. So I will be happy to take in “all-round" volunteer.

The work what needs to be done:

- Weeding, planting, watering the garden, composting as a food and (bio)medicine for the plants.
- Make flower and vegetables beds, planting trees, and make steps, paths for the garden.
- Also needed is painting, work as a carpenter to make doors, windows, gate, create Horace facilities, and all what necessary is to create a mini camping.

I work with as many natural materials as possible, like rocks, wood, plants and so on.
I stand open for idea’s an inspiration from others to make the place better.

I am looking for one person to help me, stay is first for 2 weeks, after that we can see for longer, but I have rather that you stay longer.
Work times are flexible during the week, you are free on Sundays.

Your accommodation possibilities:
- Stay in your own tent, camper or caravan.
- You can stay with me in the house, there is a staff room with 2 single beds.
We will share the kitchen and bathroom.

The meals: You get breakfast and dinner, you can make your own lunch.

You can spend your free time as you like, if you want go shopping, go to the beach, or visiting the tourist attractions. I could join you and show you around.

Working time: This is between 9 am and 7 pm. There will be resting times, when it is too hot during the day, we will have a midday break and work earlier an stop later on the day, this is necessary during the hot summer time.

After work; when you are tired, I can give you a relax massage so you get new energy for the next day. I am a profession therapeutic.

And last but not least:
Casa Calma Esperança (which means: House of relax and hope) want to be the place for everybody, of all ages, no special religious and based on a simple way of living in healing, care and charity.

What I ask you to bring with you:
humor, a smile, good mood and open mind to help anyone who needs it.

Bring working clothes, warm for the winter (in the night the temperature can be very low), boots/working shoes, your own bathing things, swimsuit, towels, flashlight.

You also need (and when you use medication), your health insurance card for EU (EHIC)

Speaking languages: English and Dutch, (no Portuguese) and I always like to learn other languages and about other cultures and ways of life.

Your stay her is at your own risk. I will help you to the best of my abilities ans I hope that we have a great time together

- No smoking
- No alcohol

I hope to see you soon, mail me with your interests, pioneering spirit, inspiration and what you like to learn about new skills from life.
See you and enjoy your stay in the farm in the Algarve.

With kind regards,

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use