help exchange   Host 56089
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Ellington
All Year: spring/summer/early fall
Area (ha): 4
Persons: 4
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 56089
Region: Midwest

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 13, 2020

**NOT SEEKING WINTER HELP/SPRING AND SUMMER 2020 HELPERS WITH EXCELLENT CARPENTRY SKILLS AND/OR ACCOMPLISHED HORSEBACK RIDERS CONSIDERED*** Our rural retirement dream located in the beautiful Missouri Ozarks is just minutes from the Ozark National Scenic Riverways featuring the Jack's Fork, Current, and Eleven Point Rivers, and Black River and Clearwater Lake are nearby. Great fishing and kayaking are available nearly all year. We are surrounded by privately held woodland and the Mark Twain National Forest, featuring miles and miles of beautiful country roads and hiking trails, including sections of the Ozark Trail. Helpers at our little farm can expect bountiful scenic beauty to take away the sting of chores, and plenty of free time to explore. We need help with farmhouse renovations and various outdoor chores. Those with horse experience are preferred, as we have four horses needing exercise and training in addition to the rest of the farm chores. There are endless house painting chores, barn and tool organization tasks,lawncare, gardening, fence building and repair, tack cleaning...I could go on forever! We have 4 horses, 10 goats, 1 calf, 2 sheep, 3 dogs, and lots of barn cats. Those with farm experience are preferred; however, anyone who is willing to take instruction and work hard will be considered! The farm is 12 miles from the nearest (very small!) town, 50 miles from Poplar Bluff, and 2 1/2 hours drive from St. Louis, so helpers should be real nature and animal lovers. Hours vary depending on time of year; expect to work 6 hours a day 5 days a week. Short stays of a few weeks, no more than a month, are the norm. I speak a bit of Spanish, but am clueless with any other languages. Helpers stay upstairs in our farmhouse with their own bathroom and lounge area. Free wifi, free long distance telephone (USA only), three excellent meals a day. The nearest airports are St. Louis and Springfield, MO, both about three hours by car from the farm. There is no local bus or train system. We are in the country!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use