Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 56204
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Cocentaina
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): .56
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 56204
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 12, 2018

Hi,

We are always looking for help with keeping the land cleared and general help around the house with chores etc. But anyone with specific skills in construction or carpentry would be fantastic!

We are Susan, Hazel and Tyler. Plus Oban (almost 2) and baby Connel. We have lived 2 years in rural Spain and we're finally feeling like we're getting the hang of it. We have some terraced land that we are clearing and working on terrace by terrace, slowly, slowly! There are a number of established olive and fruit trees which have sadly been neglected by previous owners but with some TLC are coming back in to their prime. We also have a veggie patch this year and 3 chickens who contribute eggs when they feel like it...
We are new to all of this and would welcome anyone with knowledge that we could learn from, but equally welcome those with little or no knowledge who would like to learn alongside us. Oh, and did I mention we have a swimming pool and the most amazing view from the terrace which looks even better with a nice beer after a day's work in the sun......
We are happy to host people of all ages and abilities - enthusiasm is everything.

So, a little about us; we are mother, daughter and son-in-law. Oban is son/grandson and a rambunctious toddler who is almost always outside getting up to no good or trying to take care of his new little brother. All 3 of us have been Helpx helpers in the past and so we know some of the pitfalls (and some of the mistakes helpers can make in choosing their hosts :-) - we have all been there). We have 5 dogs (so dog lovers only please).
Our house is a couple of miles from Cocentaina which is a lovely little town and we usually drive into town a few times a week so are happy to drop you in. For those who like hiking there are plenty of amazing places within easy access of the house. We are 45 minutes away from Alicante airport and an hour from the sea. There are buses coming from Alicante daily. We are close enough to Valencia to go by train for the day.

We eat mostly vegetarian and love to cook. There is always plenty of variety on the menu; Mexican, Italian, Indian, Thai, good old British roast dinners and the occasional takeaway from town- you are very welcome to cook for us!

We are looking for helpers that can muck in and help with whatever needs to be done at the time. Currently we are getting ready for winter so pruning and clearing land, bringing in wood and pine cones for the fire and generally moving stuff into storage and indoors. In the summer there is the watering to do and, with 5 dogs, anyone who isn't keen to poo pick should probably look elsewhere :-). For people who can't necessarily do heavy work there are plenty of other jobs; outside painting, cleaning, cooking, childcare etc. For those with a particular skill we are always open to ideas. Previous skilled helpers have built a chicken house and run, made steps out of railway sleepers and erected a fence.

Accommodation will either be in the main house - we have a spare bedroom with double bed or a camper (I promise it's more glamping than camping - we have all experienced pretty awful accommodation at various hosts ourselves - 'cozy caravan' was actually a spider-ridden, freezing, damp 1950s trailer).
Our first language is English but we speak a little Spanish and French. We would prefer helpers who have a reasonable standard of English so that we can converse but please also use this as an opportunity to improve your English (Hazel and Tyler are both English teachers)...
Some things to consider -
1. Smokers are welcome (no smoking in the house but outside is fine).
2. No additional guests without prior agreement (you'd be surprised...).
3. If you have a vehicle (campervan etc) we can probably accommodate that here.
4.Length of stay is totally negotiable so please ask.
5. Hours/days of work are also negotiable (25 hours in total per week). We are not rigid but can discuss with you - for example you may want consecutive days off or to spread them out or you may be an early bird and want to do 7 mornings and take off for the rest of the day to lie in a hammock or swim in the pool.
One thing we ask is that you're up and about early to let out the chickens and feed the dogs - mornings can be a little varied depending on the kids but as we are a busy young family it is when we plan for the day etc so those who can be bright eyed and bushy tailed by 9 are preferred.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use