Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 56257
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Darfield
All Year: August 6th-17th
Area (ha): 19
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 56257
Region: Christchurch

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 18, 2018

We have a beautiful and picturesque small sheep farm (50 acres) located near Darfield, which is about 45 mins from the edge of Chistchurch. The farm house is a 4 bedroom Victorian style period villa with lots of character and wonderful views. We also have horses and 3 ponies, lots of free range chickens, 2 goats, 2 dogs and a cat, all of who are friendly and love attention. There is also a large vegetable garden, a young orchard, a couple of farm buildings and a river that runs through the farm.

Celia (Mum) works nearly full time in Christchurch city centre (providing operational and accreditation support for Medical Centres). John (Stepdad) is a Hiab Truck driver who works very long hours.

Leon (8) and Freya (5) both attend Darfield Primary school and play rugby for Darfield, have dance lessons, attend gymnastics club and are learning to play the recorder, drums and piano. This is inbetween spending most of their awake hours outside on their bikes, or getting wet in the river or helping out on the farm!

We need help doing the following....we have two options:

OPTION 1,
Help out with the kids and the daily routine. Approx 25 hours per week. Monday -Friday.
This would include:
-Potentially looking after the kids and taking them to school on Monday-Friday mornings while Mum has to go to work (It would mean a 7am start each morning) and would depend on if you like the kids and if they like you!!!
- Again dependent on the kids and you getting on, picking up the kids after school on a couple of days a week and looking after them (3pm-6pm) until Mum gets home at 6pm
-Basic help looking after some the animals; walk the dogs, feed the chickens etc.
-Cooking the evening meal on Monday and Tuesday
-Basic house work (vacuuming, cleaning etc)
-Riding/working with the horses if you are an experienced horse person.

The help we need for option 1 would be:
Monday to Friday with Sat/Sun completely free to do as you please.

Experience of looking after active outdoors kids is essential - the children get wet and muddy, they climb trees, do stunts on their bikes and scooters and like to make a lot of chaos! They are fun and smart but need someone to look after them that has lots of energy and who can deal with busy and sometimes very tired kids :-)

OPTION 2
Help out with housework, farm work and outside jobs.
3-4 hours each day doing a variety of jobs that would vary from day to day.

Option 2 would include things like:
poo picking the fields,
clearing bushes,
getting gravel from the river for the yard,
cleaning,
gardening,
landscaping,
walking the dogs,
feeding the chickens,
Work with the horses if you are competent and very experienced.

Both these options are ideal for couples or friends travelling together as the farm is quiet and you`d be on your own during the day. We`d also be prepared to have a family with kids, although this would need further discussion :-) It would be fine if you were on your own, so long as you don`t mind being without company during the day. The dogs will keep you company though :-)

We are unable to accept anyone who is a smoker.

We are looking for help for 2 weeks in August - 6th to 17th.

*******We are only 40 minutes away from the ski fields at Porters Pass and Mount Hutt - so if you`re a skier or snow boarder this might be the perfect location for you!*****

Everything would be provided for you including food, phone, internet, washing machine, car (option 1 only). The car may be available for personal use however long trips would need discussing beforehand.

You would have your own room with an ensuite bathroom, TV and DVD player, and no living costs.

If you are wanting to help us with the kids then it is essential that you must speak a good standard of English, have full drivers licence, and have no criminal convictions. If you want to just help out on the farm (option 2) then your English need not be so strong, but you would need to be fit and healthy! You would need to be a non-smoker to stay with us :-) .

We have two (very friendly) dogs and a cat who live in the house too, so you need to be happy to have animals around you.

We can collect you up from, and take you back to Christchurch, the airport or the city if you have no transport.

This would be the chance to experience a real kiwi rural family lifestyle. We can share our knowledge of farm skills, animal husbandry, gardening, environmental management, sustainable living and maintenence skills. Celia can speak basic French and Welsh, John can speak `real good` kiwi and can teach some authentic phrases and comments that definitely are not in the dictionary!!! Helping us would mean you could become part of our household and family. Previous helpers remain in contact with us and some even plan to return to visit us on their next trip to NZ. We`ve made some wonderful friends through hosting our previous helpers and we hope that you could become friends for life.

I look forward to hearing from you!

Please let me know in your email which option you are interested in.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use