Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 56710
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 56710
Region: South Canterbury

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 23, 2017

Running a doggy daycare and kennel. Need help around the yards, building shelters, gardening and playing with dogs. You can check out our facebook page link above, to see what we do here.

Person/s MUST love dogs. You will be drooled on and licked, so if that freaks you out, we aren't the place for you. We can have up to 20 dogs running around the section. So you must expect that you will be covered in fur and muddy dog prints from time to time. Some of the dogs do jump up, so if you don't like dogs, don't offer to come here.
Or if you are still going to come, please let us know so I don't put you into an uncomfortable situation with the dogs. The dogs will sense that you are at unease and it makes the dogs wary. We have other tasks around the property that you can assist with instead.

We are flexible with the hours during the day you wish to work as we have dogs from 7am through to 9pm. Or if you would rather work a whole day one day to have a day off the next day, not a problem. We understand you are also here for a holiday and want to see the area as well.

We can offer food and lodging in exchange for help.
Breakfast and lunch is a kinda help yourself deal as we just fit those meals in when we can, but we do try and sit down for the evening meal together.

We have a choice of staying in the house or staying in a sleep out if you would like a bit more time apart from us. We have movies and tv shows on an apple tv in both bedrooms and wifi throughout the property.

Although we are very busy, we enjoy sitting down with a beer or wine in the evening and relaxing.
We have 2 large dogs that live in the house, very friendly, as well as the odd few dogs that stay with us in the house instead of over at the kennel area.

We do expect you to help out around the house as well. Help with meals, dishes etc. just like you are a normal part of the household. We both work as well, sometimes up to 14hrs a day, so expect that you will pitch in and do your share of household chores on top of your half days work. Even if you only want to make yourself something to eat, it takes the pressure off us to have to make all the meals.

We live beside a fantastic bike track and have bikes that you can use. You can bike to the ocean 20km away. Take a packed lunch and make a day of it. Or you can take the other direction and go along the mountain bike track for 10km.
Across the river is another bike track that will take you down to Lake Hood, Ashburtons man-made lake.

Ashburton is an hour south from Christchurch with buses heading up there daily. It is on the state highway, so very easy to get to. We live about 1km from the centre of town, so easy to walk to.

We have helpxers until the end of April already. But we have room after that.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use