Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 56821
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3.14
Persons: 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 56821
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 21, 2017


We are a rest stop for pilgrims walking the Chemin de St Jacques in the Haute-Pyrénées. During the holidays we also run a campsite and welcome French students for English language stays. Kate teaches yoga classes in French and English and Chris is a pool guy. Among all that, we still find plenty of time to enjoy everything this area has to offer.

We are looking for a couple to help us with welcoming pilgrims and in the house and garden this summer (starting May and June). We are also starting work to turn our barn into a yoga studio. There is always lots of yoga going on if you would like to have a go. No previous experience necessary.

We are a family of four (kids aged 11 and 9) who moved from Norfolk, England in July 2012. We work hard but we also play hard so a sense of humour is essential. Musicians and performers are always welcome :)

We speak English at home and with our French students but there are lots of opportunities to improve your French with the pilgrims who stay with us and our friends.

We currently have a dog, three cats, five chickens and three rabbits. We also have a potager (vegetable garden) and are trying to grow as much fruit and veg as we can.

Previous experience is always appreciated but not essential. It is more important to be willing to get stuck into anything! As we often have guests, being able to clean up after yourself is an essential requirement. And we may also need help cleaning the accommodation. You don't need to be an expert but we do ask for things to be cleaned properly. We will help you learn how and your future partners will love us forever ;)

Our children, Tana and India, are 11 and 9. They are an important part of our household so we love helpers who like to be around and play with children.

You must be flexible as that is the nature of life here. If we have a really busy time, we might all be working flat out for eight hours but you will ALWAYS get the time back. Our most successful helpers are not clock-watchers. They are people who want to help us do what we are doing. And this kind of attitude is ALWAYS rewarded.

We ask people to stay for at least two weeks as that is how long it takes for you to settle in. When we are all sure that we can live and work happily together we encourage people to stay as long as they can as that is when the real magic happens. Lifelong friendships are formed and you get the chance to really be part of the place, to see what it's like to live in rural France and really get to know the local people and area.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use