Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 56926
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Coulouvray Boisbenatre
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.3
Persons: 1 to 3
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 56926
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 6, 2017

LOOKING FOR PEOPLE NOW :) preferably a couple or girls just for the next few weeks as Emily will be on her own (sorry guys)

Long time Helpx volunteers, first time hosts here! We're an english couple (learning French) Emily (25) and Dan (26), and were embarking on an exciting project in France.

We have about an acre with 2 buildings and plans to re-build a third. This is a rustic project so if you embrace the outdoors and want to disconnect from the internet, this is the Helpx for you!

Its situated in the French countryside near the beautiful village of Coulouvray Boisbenâtre. This project would be ideal for 2 or 3 friends or a couple wanting a working holiday (obviously if you are one person you can also come). As well as working we will plan lots of fun activities such as biking (we have 2 you can borrow), live music in the evening around camp fires (we have a ton of instruments!), yoga in the mornings, art and crafts, jogs around the countryside (Emilys currently trining). We are planning on getting chickens soon, so they might be here by the time you come!

Our end goal is to run an off grid hostel for travellers, hitchhickers and cyclists. We are imagining a chilled out area with outdoor kitchens and communal areas with hammocks and music.

We want these projects to be productive but we also want to have fun. We’ve stayed at many hostels, helpx’s, couch surfing houses, and airbnb’s (as well as hosting on airbnb and couch surfing) We want to learn from these experiences and be awesome hosts for helpx-ers.

We've both finished university in the last 4 years studying music and marine biology, and have been working in Manchester for the last year. However building a self-sustainable home has always been our dream. We did HelpX on and off for over a year and have been travelling on and off for about 5 years. We have built up a lot of knowledge and experience in self sustainable construction and living.
We're musical and artistic, Dan runs his own recording studio and has brought this to France. Emily is very hands on and makes clothes/art, obsessed with knitting! We briefly lived in Egypt on the reef as divers. Emily was working as a marine biologist and Dan was playing in a band. We are very outdoorsy, we love nature and being out in the elements. We are very friendly and accommodating people who love good company and a lot of laughs!

You'll get to stay in a fully functioning 4 birth modern caravan complete with awning, but feel free to bring your own tent! We have solar showers, all our electricity is from solar panels and a compost toilet, so if you don’t embrace living quite so rustic, this might not be your cup of tea.

Food is included but it will be mostly vegetarian as we don’t eat meat (but you are welcome to bring any). We have a polytunnel full of veggies! Most of our cooking is outside on a fire, but do have a stove and are partial to a Pelucci pizza pancake (you will find out what that is!) and of course a glass of wine or two!

The two houses need completely renovating, this would be great opportunity to learn about different ways of building. We learnt most of what we know about sustainability from doing HelpX. This could be anything from painting, building, carpentry to creating and inventing. We also have a lot of off-grid projects ready to begin work on, such as building an underground greenhouse (for winter veggies) and planting lots of vegetables, as well as building a cob pizza oven, wind turbine, outdoor kitchen/communal area, rocket heaters etc. Luckily Emilys dad who will be chilling with us for a while is a builder and has done all this before and is a wealth of knowledge!

You just have to work 5-6 hours a day and get the weekends off to enjoy the area and activities. Basically we just want people to work as team and complete all the tasks, whilst having a laugh.

Anyway, drop us an email and let us know if you're interested. We're happy for you to bring your own ideas to the project, creativity is key to making this whole thing work.


Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use