Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 57082
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): .6
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 57082
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 27, 2018

We are an extended family of three generations in a lovely queenslander and cottage easy walking distance from Samford village cafes. We are 6 adults and three kids, 8,6 and 18 months, two dogs and 14 chooks, and some wild ducks. You'd be welcomed to be part of our family and share evening meals with us. Other meals are more random around here and we provide the makings you need for breakfast and lunch there is always someone here during the day to share a meal of cuppa with. You'll have a lovely airy room with double bed would suit single or couple, access to foxtel wi-fi, pool, tennis court, and petanque (see photo thanks to Amandine and Damien). No smoking and alcohol is not an important part of our culture but some of the family sometimes enjoy a glass of wine over dinner. We don't watch much TV here but do enjoy family games together over dinner or after dinner.
We have beginnings of a lovely vegie garden thanks to our helpx friends we have five raised garden beds. We have a pond which needs some care weeding and cleaning out. We also have painting and building projects. We'd like you to do 5 hours per day Monday to Friday and the weekends are yours for adventures or getting to know the area. You can quite likely borrow one of our cars, or bikes for exploring and we have a canoe and sailing boat available. We'd be happy to drop you at Ferny Grove station 10 minutes from here if you want to go to the city. Samford village is about half hour from Brisbane city by car (longer in peak hour). It has an excellent range of services, has an organic store about 5 minutes walk from us, a couple of organic cafes, plenty of regular coffee shops, take-aways and a supermarket.
The food we eat is a mixture of organic, free range, and regular food. We have a preference for organic but sometimes its not easily available or too expensive. Our shared meals are all gluten free and mostly dairy free and always fantastic Deb is great cook and its mostly she who does the main meals, although we all do it on some occasions. We eat meat, mostly chicken and lamb. Some meals are vegetarian but not often.
We have family members with an interest in French and Spanish languages, who would like to practice, so french and spanish speakers are welcome.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use