Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 57150
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.8
Persons: 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 57150
Region: Taranaki

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 7, 2017

Kiaora! Naumai haere mai! Greetings! Welcome! We are a small family working and living on the coast, 30minutes south of New Plymouth.

Our house was once an accomodation that used to serve an observatory that was surrounded by pine trees. It is now a home that is situated on Surf Highway 45, near Cape Egmont Light house and many top surf breaks such as Stent Road. It is also in close proximity to Parihaka and set amongst the many lahars from the amazing volcanic landscape.

The approx 2 acres (0.8 hectares) is currently being developed to provide a more sustainable living environment. We have planted 100's of native Plantings to create shelter belts and different microclimates to promote an inviting environment for native birds and bees. We have a large vegetable garden and pockets of orchard/fruit trees such as feijoas, apples, tamarillos peaches and citrus. We are creating paddocks for grazing and currently have a pond in the making.

It is home to free range chickens, a Guinea fowl, 2 miniature kunekune pigs, 2 dogs, 2 cats and hopefully more to come.

We are only too happy to provide a bed, And meals in exchange for some help with either weeding, gardening, sanding/painting, fencing, building work, or landscaping. We can also share our knowledge of Taranaki and its history, maori language and culture, plus even take you to the tide to gather seafood etc.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use