Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 57323
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: May to September
Area (ha): 1 Acre
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 57323
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 21, 2017

Are you looking to stay in a beautiful quiet rural location?

We are located on the side of the scenic Nire Valley, West Waterford. We own a cottage and small holding on an acre of land in the middle of the family farm.

We are looking for individuals or couples to work alongside us who have reasonable English, who are easy going, friendly and relaxed that will fit in to our little family. We are Mary, Eddy and Molly. Molly is our 13 year old Jack Russel who lives in our home and is a very important part of our family.

We have two out door cats, free range chickens, geese, turkeys, ducks, goats and a Jersey cow called Jasmine. Over half of our chickens are ex battery farm chickens. They came to us almost completely bald, no feathers from the neck down. With love and TLC, they all now happy, fluffy chickens and lay wonderful eggs for us every day. Our turkeys are forever turkeys, not just for Christmas. The Indian Runner Ducks are real characters and have to been seen to be believed, they make us laugh every day. Our gander Noel has a new lady friend called Demelza and he is so in love with her. Jasmine our Jersey Cow is three years old. She has two daughters that live on my brothers farm called Lily and Holly. Jasmine loves being groomed while she relaxes in the field, Gingy and Mudgy are our cats. They are stray cats who adopted us as their parents. They love a tickle as you walk past. The goats are Vic Reeves and Bob Mortimer. They were abandoned and we took them in, they were wild at first but with lots of patience, TLC and buckets of nuts, they can now be handled. They are still nervous of people but are becoming more accepting. They love going for walks on the lead and they help to keep the grass mowed.

If you love animals and want to get away from the hustle and bustle of life, then why not come and stay with us for a while.

People will work approx 4 hours a day. Eddy's back is not great so we work in a relaxed chilled out pace with plenty of tea breaks. We need help with fencing, diy projects, gardening, painting and looking after our animals. You would have your own double room in our home, meals and access to WIFI in exchange for your help. You do not need to have experience or certain skills, just enthusiasm and a willingness to turn your hand to anything.

Non smoker preferred but if you do smoke, we would ask that you smoke outside. We are not vegetarians but will cater for you if you are. If you like to cook, we would welcome anything you would like to contribute to the family. We keep the pantry well stocked. We do visit the local town, Clonmel (10 miles away) a few times a week and you are welcome to come with us. The local village is two miles away and the pub is only a mile away.

A bit about me, Mary. I am an animal lover who like to run and walk, you are welcome to join me. I love pottering around with my vegetables and flowers that we grow.

A bit about Eddy. He will turn his hand to anything. Eddy always has some project or two on the go.

A bit about Molly. She is 13 but thinks she is 3, loves meeting people, will sit on you or your foot any chance she gets. She loves her daily walks and has issues with the cats.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use