help exchange   Host 57324
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Cape Town
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.15
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 57324
Country: South Africa

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 8, 2020

*** With the craziness of year end we will not be taking volunteers until February 2020 ***

We are a family of 5 who lead regular city lives, however we are in the process of trying to convert our home, into an urban farm with food forest / permaculture / organic influences.

We currently have fruit and nut trees, some chickens and quail, some annual vegetable patches, edible perrenials and a small nursery.

With autumn cooling the evenings, and the days bringing the promise of rain, we are entering into planting for the winter garden.

As of 2018 we have started doing monthly garden tours, to enable people to be inspired to grow their own food. You can see what we are upto on the above website and social media platforms.

While we are currently building a wicking bed wall, with a bit of luck you might get to choose your work from the list if I have no preference. In no special order.
Building a ramp to the front of the house.
Setting up our Aquaponics system.
Rain tanks are connected, leaf catchers needed
Continuing wicking beds build. Final bed of three to be started.
Propagating and repotting in the nursery
Turning compost and spreading compost
Clearing trees
Watering trees
Making butter, biltong, sprouts, microgreens, kefir, bottling produce.

We really hope this to be a cultural exchange, a time of learning (for both of us), fun and useful. We are looking for people who are engaging, interested in farming / gardening in some form, interested in our country. Your ideas and opinions will be welcomed, and if you want to learn something specific, just ask. Remember we have 3 young kids and live in the suburbs of Cape Town, so we are not tranquil country life. About 2 weeks with us would be about the right amount of time, with at least two weeks notice upfront. Although vegetarians and vegans are welcome, it is not how we usually eat.

There is one room available with two beds. We only take couples or girls. Internet available, although you do need your own device. Bathroom is family shared, although mostly yours. Meals are with the family, although help yourself for breakfast and lunch. We welcome help with cooking dinners, especially if it is a cultural dish. There is always home baked bread! Treats and snacks are for your own account. Shops are within walking distance.

For your free time, we are on the edge of the wine region and of course there are the sights of Cape Town (30 mins by car) if you want. We do keep tourist brochures for guests and encourage them to add to the collection. We would recommend your own transport if you hope to be out and about. If you are out late we expect you home by 10. Remember we have to work the next day.

Work is 8-12 Mon-Fri, although you could work 8-4 and get the next day off if you have a full day trip you are hoping for. We will try take you out at least once, however this will depend on our schedule.

Broke, Smoking, self-absorbed, drinking persons, looking for free accommodation and who have little interest in what we do, need to go find a backpackers somewhere.

Questions welcome.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use