Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 57464
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 57464
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 15, 2017

We are a consciously minded holistic family and keep our home toxin free as much as we can. We are very interested in spirituality and personal development. With 2 children who are both spirited and bright, life is never boring!

We eat wholesome, mostly organic food plus ethically reared meat.

Our home is a semi detached house on a cul de sac at the edge of a village, with amazing views. You'll have your own double bedroom.

We are warm and welcoming but short of time and energy! Volunteers will be very welcome to join in with family outings, meals and evenings out to the pub (when they happen!) etc. but will need to take care of themselves most of the time, particularly in the evenings when Tom and I catch up with each other.

Our children are fun, and sometimes challenging. Our older child has higher needs at times.

We are sociable at meal times but often find we need to be private in the evenings, to catch up with each other and sleep. We do usually get together for a family meal on Sundays and we encourage you to join us!! We eat early in the evening on weekdays and have found that this is the key time to get together and build friendships.

We are happy to host for long stays, but will always take the first couple of weeks on a trial basis, during which either of us can say "this isn't for me"

We're looking for a positive, practical and energetic kind soul to help us with our two children, aged 7 and 5, along with light domestic household duties.

We also have some specific decorating and general carpentry (to build some raised beds) jobs we would like help with, along with gardening help and help to create and maintain an organic veg plot.

You can offer to volunteer for just the childcare/domestic stuff or the carpentry or the gardening or the decorating, or a combination depending on how long you stay.

If you are coming to help with childcare/domestic stuff this will be the routine....the children are in school, although we plan to home educate later in the year. We need someone to help with the hour before school, 7.30 til 8.30, making breakfast, helping them to get themselves organised, and maybe the school run if everyone is happy with that. Then some after school help from 3.30 til 6, reading with them, getting creative with them, keeping them occupied and happy. Maybe making dinner on some occasions. Then some light cleaning, putting washing away etc at some point in the day.

There may be one evening of babysitting. It would be 25 hours max through the week.

For the other things (gardening, veg beds, decorating) we could speak and work something out, either with or without the childcare/domestic element.

We are open to a longer term volunteer, and there is the possibility of a permanent au-pair type role after we get to know you.

You (really important that you read before emailing us as it saves everyone time!)

- decent conversational English as we've found it difficult to build rapport and discuss both work and pleasure when you are just learning the language.

- experience living with kids and spending a lot of time with them - you'll need to be able to deal kindly and firmly with grumps and arguments from time to time!!

- confident and sensitive: used to getting things done and happy to join in with our busy and energetic family.

- experience of being away from home, travelling and staying with other people.

- able to ask for what you need/discuss things when you're not sure/not happy.

This would suit someone who would like a base to explore the area, or pursue their own learning or creative projects. Its not so good if you need us to be your surrogate family - but we look forward to becoming friends!!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use