Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 57990
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 1 to 5
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 57990
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 6, 2017

Located 15 minutes drive from Knock Airport, 5 minutes from Charlestown which is a little town that has bus routes to the North, South, West and even East of Ireland including Dublin city and Galway city.within an hour from Sligo town and some of Sligo's best surfing beaches.Our immediate location is perfect for cycling as it is very flat with hardly any traffic and also has some lovely off road walks.We are 20 minutes drive from Lough Gara,30 minute drive from Lough Key Forest Park.Both Tom and Triona drive so we can organise collection and day trips depending on our scheduales.
We are a young couple who recently purchased an Original Irish Cottage in Co. Mayo with a large 2 acre plot including woodland, field, extensive gardens, polytunnel, ancient ringfort, original outhouses and self contained accommodation for visitors and workers.
Our main focus this summer is to restore native woodland by removing non native, invasive species and allowing natural regeneration. We are also in the process of creating a cottage kitchen garden and vegetable patch plus establishing a long term food forest garden. We are also working on house, outhouses,and other DIY projects.
Thomas is into outdoors, from adventure activities to gardening and growing to exploring every inch of our native surroundings. Thomas has many years experience in gardening, foraging, permaculture, bushcraft, wilderness expedition, travel and many other skills and expertise. Thomas also has a keen passion for sharing and teaching these skills to people who share these interests. Thomas is currently working full time on the house and land and will be present most of the time.
Triona is a full time social care worker but all her spare time is spent helping Thomas in the garden or on the land.
We also have a dog Guinness, rabbit Molly,Puppy C,4 hens and plan to get more animals in the near future.
We are part of a very nice neighbourhood with a diversity of backgrounds. We love socializing and often have gatherings of friends and family for dinners, fires, games and music.
We are looking for a wide range of skills and experience to help us in our adventure and journey in our new home and we look forward to hearing from you.
Thomas, Triona and Family

*Pets welcome
*smokers welcome
*wifi available
*vegetarians catered for
*2km to nearest shop/pub

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use