Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 58015
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3
Persons: 2-5
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 58015
Country: Italy

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 4, 2018

Dezerega traveller's community.

Hi, I'm Paolo, we live in a Bucolic EcoHome in a little village in the mountains, half way between Genova and 5 Terre.

One Girl long terms:
Helping to care about the vegetables garden, skill for cooking, but also process and preserve the fruit and vegetables. Helping with the renting and welcoming people when needed. Better if with driving license. Adaptable

One Man:
Best profile: Driving license, independent, adaptable, respectful, chain-saw and grass trimmer ability!

Future projects and activities:

Build up sauna on the teepees camp.
Cutting grass.
Dry-stone wall repairing.
Clean the olive tree grove from infesting plants.
Prepare the house for next renting.
Maintainance of the vegetable gardens.
Extend the teepee camp.

List of work and project we complete thanks to the community help:

Lot of news connecting steps between the terraces.
Indian teepees camp,with hot shower and toilette.
Hippy van interior.
Preparation to rent the house and the teepee.
Cleaning the infested plants in the olive tree grove.
Huge work in the three terraces effected from the disastrous flood in 2014. All the stone wall are rebuilding, and new vegetables garden are now on them.

Here we can:

Help in the vegetable and fruit garden

Eat a home made pizza or make a barbeque together

Prepare wood for the winter

Improve your dry-stone walling skill

Meet other travellers

Take a rest in the swimming pool in summer time

Swim in the sea in Sestri Levante, Camogli, Portofino,Lavagna

Visit the amazing landscape of 5 Terre

Enjoy the night life in Genova

Yoga session in the morning

Prepare the olive trees and the vineyard to make oil and wine

Search for mushrooms in the woods

Night time safari in the forest

The main help is in the terraces.
There is a lot of place not used yet.
Lot of terraces are empty and we want to use them like vegetable garden, producing organic food for the community. So the more we are the better it will be.
Heater and hot water works with wood in the winter and with solar panel in the summer, so preparing and stocking the wood for the winter is also a job that we need to do and requires a lot of time.
Dry stone walling will replace your daily gym exercises. To have better connection between the terraces, some new steps are needed.
Cooking takes a lot of time when we start from raw material.
Everyone is suppose to help in the house: clean and wash the dishes is also part of the community life.
Sometime the house is rented. In that case, the cleaning and maintenance of the home are the first priorities. In this period the people that want to stay are expected to be extremely flexible to pack the luggages and move to sleep in the hippy van, the indian teepee, or the tents on the terraces, or another option is to sleep at next door home near by depending on its availability.
We try to use the vegetables and fruits from the garden as much as possible for the cooking, Nevertheless: a cooperation for the shopping is asked weekly, in order to provide some better quality food, some special diets requirementsor or a bottle of wine to full enjoy the Italian food experience. It will not be more than twenty euro par week.

2-5 people are welcome. There are two rooms: both for two persons, one has a fire place, and the living room has a couch that converts into a bed for two persons. More people can find the way to sleep around. Another option is to set your tent on the terrace or under a tree. A teepee is ready to host several people. In the future, two more spaces will be available in an old Volkswagen hippy van.

During the help with garden and terraces you will learn a lot about edible wild grass that are a fundamental part of the regional culture.

In season, between may and november there is an incredible variety of mushrooms. I'm always happy to discuss about them and to cook and eat the more tasty ones.

There are not many artificial light around, so during the evening with no moon the sky is very clear.
I love to watch stars, and with a binocular we can discover lot of things.

I also love to play table games, especially old one. I can teach you how to play the royay game of Ur, for example, that is the oldest one in th e world, a Sumerian one.

Yoga and meditation sections are also a very nice way to be in contact sharing the energy.

If you enjoy tolk about travelling, this are the country I visited :
Andorra, United Arab Emirates, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Botswana, Canada, Switzerland, Chile, China, Cuba, Czech Republic, Germany, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, Spain, Ethiopia, Finland, Fiji, France, United Kingdom, Ghana, Giordan Greece, Guatemala, Croatia, Hungary, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Cambodia, Liechtenstein, Lesotho, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mauritania, Morocco, Monaco, Malta, Montenegro, Mauritius, Namibia, Netherlands, Norway, New Zealand, Oman, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Paraguay, Réunion, Romania, San Marino, Senegal, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Swaziland, Seychelles, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, Tanzania, Ukraine, Uruguay, United States, Vatican City State, Venezuela, South Africa, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use