Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 58055
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 27
Persons: a couple or one pers
Category: Accommodation Business
Host ID: 58055
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 24, 2017

We are located in Ardèche, in the South of France, live in a beautiful place with view on the Ardeche mountains and are looking for a couple of helpers.
I am Sophie,( 53 years), and since five years, I have been running with Eric (63 years) who is retiring, a guest house in an old stone farm. Around 700 people come each year in our guest house. During the season we host 10 guests, are often 15 to 20 around the table (my children and their friends often come to visit, help and share, and we organize some pizza’s party or dinnar with our guests). In the mid season or winter it is quieter, and we are aiming at transforming this guest house into a place where people from differents generations live and work in harmony with spirit and nature. We are starting permaculture, wish to become as most self sufficent and sustainable as possible, and want to share our way of life with people via hosting helpers and guests and organizing seminars.

When the guest house is closed (from October to March) I am looking for a couple to house sit while I take a break away,and do some work in the garden or DIY. This winter there will not be a lot of work, and some times only my partner Eric will be there, so I can only propose to house you (but you will have to cook and pay for your food), and we will ask only one or two hours of work a day.

During the season (April to September) I am looking for an open minded, positive, capable and independent couple (man/woman) who can help me in the general running of the place and the development of permaculture. I ask for a 25 hours a week work, 5 days a week (depending on the weather and the activity of the guest house: this is flexible). The idea is to progressively host more helpers.
Help is required with all aspects of a compassionate, sustainable lifestyle.

During the summer (July and August), you will live just beside my place in a yourte and have access to a bathroom in the house ; the rest of the time, I offer a bedroom with 1 kingsize bed (+1 bathroom).
I will host you in a convivial atmosphere for two/three weeks minimum, with 3 meals a day (mostly vegetarian).

I live in a remote place (the first village with all accommodations is at 4 miles), so you will need to have your own transportation means. A driver license, valid in France would also be welcome.

I am also an artist (painting, engraving and making beaded jewelry), so during the mi-season and the winter, if you are an artist, or want to learn, we can share art activities.

When contacting us please:
Let us know if you have any kind of special diet or food restrictions.
Write telling us whatever you would like to say about yourself, your hobbies, etc .
Please say for how long you are available to join us (at least 3 weeks)

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use