help exchange   Host 5808
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Atherton tablelands
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 142
Persons: 1, 2, may consider 3
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 5808
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 18, 2016

Must be happy to look after kangaroos/ wildlife, and help with the running of dogs. Fit people only who like to run in the forest. Preferably good English. Long term people welcome to stay if we both agree that we are happy with each other.
Non smokers also a must. I would consider someone who is working on a fruit farm somewhere on the Cairns side of Mareeba,for basic accomodation and some jobs.

I am on my farm (250 acres of awesome forest) near Mareeba at the moment. This is a new farm, house is like a huge swiss chalet that I am fixing up. It is on the Eureka Crk, and full of wildlife as the forest has been untouched for many years. It is about ten minutes from Mareeba on the Kuranda side.

This is my other farm, of which you will visit also. The dogs and pig and wallabies are at the farm above now.
I live on 350 acres with only one 16 year old son left at home. We live about 60 km west outside of Mareeba on the Atherton Tablelands.This is about 90 minutes from Cairns in Far North Queensland in a very dry, outback area full of views and wonderful wildlife and bird-life and rich agricultural land.The night sky is magnificent. I have horses, cattle, dogs, a beautiful pig named Bella and rescued wildlife from time to time. Some still come home for a feed and cuddle at night!

Periodically throughout the year I would like a hand tidying the garden, attending the vege garden, mowing the farm with a ride on mower or tractor, spring cleans, shed tidying, fixing dog pens, running dogs, cooking, painting, fencing or what ever skills you can offer to enhance the farm. I also would love a travelling mechanic, and if they serviced my cars and detailed them (I would pay for parts when needed) they could just do that and no other jobs. That would be awesome. The person, must LOVE BIG DOGS. I have several, they are guard/hunting dogs but are real friendly once I have introduced you.
Swedish people are encouraged to apply as I lived there many years ago and love to practice the language which is not so crash hot these days and talk about the country and places I visited.
Would like non smoker/non or occasional drinker, who would treat my place as if it were owned by them. I would rather people worked a long day or several in a row and then had equivalent full days off. You would eat with the family and I love it when my helpers cook for me too! I have a 3 bedroom house and a barracks house separate to the house. The right person would be welcome to come back several times, and perhaps even house sit on school holiday periods if I chose to travel. There is also a beautiful river to swim in. I love to take people sight seeing so a long days work will give you this opportunity. Gorgeous quiet area, with beautiful things to see and do. I am also an avid camper and 4wd person and can point you in many good directions and the right person could join me in the bush. Longer stays may also provide a dedicated person the opportunity to go outback and caving with us, weather permitting. See you soon!

There is limited mobile service here (Optus is best) and I have no land line. I have satellite internet so it is very expensive....therefore only basic emailing/social media is requested, no big down or uploads.
Absolutely no illicit drugs.....or water wasters!!!
It is a peaceful country experience especially for animal lovers.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use