Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 58505
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Durong
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 25000
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 58505
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 21, 2018

We have only been back on the family farm about a year so we are still settling in to our new home (but an old house) and the garden is still a big work in progress. Aggie could use some help around the home and with our active 4 year old as we also have a little girl who will be one in May so life is extra busy! We have spent the last few years in lots of places - Scotland/UK, Europe, Kununurra, Broome, Charleville, so we are looking forward to settling down a little but want to have some travel experience by having travellers come to us!

The farm has been in the family for 100 years and currently supports 4 families, this includes 3 generations with grandparents, Aunts, Uncles and 2 very busy 4 year olds and 2 toddlers!

We have lots of work to do in the garden as the goal is to be self sufficient in a few years time! We also have plans involving some tourism ventures in the future so there is lots to keep busy with!

In exchange for your labour you will be hosted with enthusiasm and a comfy room and all meals provided.

There is always plenty of work on the farm although sometimes this involves longer days but there is plenty of flexibility. The priority for helpers is at our home/garden but there will also be the opportunity to participate in the farm activities if you're interested. These include working with cattle in the yards, mustering in the forest, milking the cows, riding horses, motorbikes, tractors, lots of fixing things, helping with veggie gardens....lots of variety. It's a busy, vibrant place and we have lots of knowledge and connections across Australia so really happy to help with any travel plans. Would suit someone seeking some time out from backpacker scene, creative, easy going and happy to hang out with a busy three year old (and busy farm). Collection and transport can readily be arranged from Toowoomba, Dalby or Chinchillaand.

Anyone with knowledge or interest in organic gardening, permaculture and garden design or just lots of enthusiasm would be most welcome! It's a beautiful spot and we are very excited about creating a special place!

Aggie, Emile, Digby and Matilda

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use