Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 58519
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Ohakune
All Year: April-June
Area (ha): 600
Persons: 1-2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 58519
Region: Central North Island

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 17, 2018

**Now looking for helpers for 2-4 week periods from 28 August - 04 December 2018**
(For WHV holders: Paid work available for additional hours worked)

We've had awesome introduction to HelpX- so a huge thanks to our fabulous helpers!! We would like to keep the momentum going with good helpers, if you have some previous farm experience. There will be general farm jobs happen in you can help with and then we will start calving in late August, at which point we want a couple if really excellent helpers to help look after the baby cows (calves)...

We are looking forward to our third milking season in a brand new dairy shed as part of our family farming operation. This will begin in approximately the last week of August 2018.

We are looking for 5 hours of work per day helping to milk the cows & move them to their new paddock, feeding the calves and tending to their needs, and other farm jobs (and housekeeping on occassion). Nothing too hard, just an early start sometimes (7 am, when you are milking). You certainly don't need dairying experience, but most definitely need a good work ethic and a smiling face each morning. It would be ideal for 2 week minimum stay, so that you can settle into your role and also dive into the surrounding area to explore. Normally, we work on the 6 days on- 1 day off roster.

This gives you the chance to get "your jobs done" and get out exploring the absolutely stunning scenery in our local area. This includes Tongariro National Park (the farm is nestled up against this beautiful World Heritage Park) and Whanganui National Park (just over an hour's drive). There are countless opportunities for walking/tramping on well-maintained trails or in the back-country, skiing/boarding (July-Oct), mountain biking year-round (just outside your door), trout fishing, canoeing, jet-boating, rafting, & other outdoor pursuits... You may even get a deep sea fishing trip with the family!

You'll be warm and well-fed in a tidy 3-bedroom, 2 bathroom home provided for farm staff and run as a lodge-type setting. We will provide breakfast, lunch, and dinner (either I can prepare or you can, at your leisure). You'll be assured a private bedroom and free wifi access for your downtime (data use within reason). In exchange, we expect you to be hard working, kind & helpful, RELIABLE, and considerate. Absolutely NO SMOKING inside or near the house and be CLEAN & TIDY at all times.

Your own transport would be helpful, as we aren't located in town (15km to two diffferent settlements- Ohakune and Raetihi). We can pickup/drop-off for bus (Ohakune) or train (National Park) and would be happy to help with other travel arrangements.

We think couples could suit this role well, or a couple of mates travelling together....Those of you who aren't afraid of getting dirty! :-)

Please send me info about where you're from and any experience you have with animals or on a farm if you're keen to come and stay for a bit. Include intended date of arrival and departure.

Our area is very much a multi-cultural place, with Kiwis, South Africans, Americans, British, Scottish, and others I'd guess.

There's also horse and pony leisure activities, as we love our Quarter horse and welsh ponies very much! We'd be delighted to go for rides together. Dogs, ducks, chickens... general farm life in a beautiful piece of New Zealand.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use