Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 58722
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: yes
Area (ha): 16
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 58722
Region: North Canterbury

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 29, 2018

Its not long before we get some four day old calves to look after,we have all the pens ready just a few things to do now .I hope we get some nice people to come and help us for a few hours a day we sure need it.John and I live in a small country village in the foothills of Oxford 45 minutes drive from Christchurch city. After having 4 children of our own we shifted south to be near our 2 grandchildren.
The scenery is spectacular as from our lounge window we have snow-capped mountains and cattle grazing on the lower hills. Our small farm is 8km from Oxford town with all amenities, library, supermarket, gym and pubs.
This is a new business rearing 250 beef calves on fresh colostrum, hay and meal.We aim to sell
calves on contract with the rest being sold to locally at weaning.
It is expected that you will help to feed, weigh, shift calves. Other jobs may include weeding or general farm work. On average we would require you to work 4hrs per day with board and lodgings provided.
Oxford is an area vibrant with outdoor activities like bush walking, mountain biking, horse trekking, salmon fishing, jet boating and hunting.
It would be advisable to have your own transport.
Phone reception is very good.
Our household is alive with 3 cats, Gingey, Sophie and Sam (kittens) Charlie the Labradorand Hugo a white woolly retriever.
Photo 1. left to right.Looking down our race towards calf sheds with yearling bulls and Charlie our labrador in the foreground.
Photo 2. Bedroom for helpers
Photos of baby calves in photo 5. View from letterbox to snow capped mountains.Photo of our 3 ewes and 2 lambs. Photo of Hugo and Charlie.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use