Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 58842
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4.5 Acres
Persons: 1 or a couple
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 58842
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 20, 2018

Beautiful views and a lovely rural setting close to an alternative town with plenty going on (Hebden Bridge) nestled between Manchester and Leeds in the South Pennines. We are also on a bus route and near a train station.

We would love people to help us with our newly acquired smallholding. We are a couple with a dog, cows and chickens. You would be staying with us as part of the family.

We have meadows with a stream running through. Our plan is to develop the meadows for wild flowers, generate woodland along the stream and create a pond area to increase biodiversity. We also have a small veg plot and orchard.

We are not registered organic but have an organic sensibility. We do things by hand and don`t use weed-killer, fertiliser etc. We have a scythe and can teach you to scythe.

We need help with whatever we are doing. If the weather is fine we`ll be outside, removing problem plants, generally weeding, planting, painting, building dry stone walls, making paths, moving stones or working on out-buildings. If the weather is poor we may be carrying out internal renovations/building work.

In the main you will be working alongside us but if you have a particular skill please let us know as we might bring a job forward for you to lead on.

We are also looking to develop hydro/solar systems and irrigation from rainwater collection or by diverting from one of the many water sources on the land so any experience of these would be very welcome.

We are non-smokers and eat mainly a vegetarian diet, we can accommodate other dietary requirements. Emma makes amazing Yorkshire puddings too!

You will have a nice bedroom with lovely views and your own bathroom.

We have good mobile phone reception and wifi but we don`t own a telly :-)

We are both jugglers and run Circus Skills workshops as well as our other work, we`d be happy to share skills, teach you to juggle or hoop.

Steve is interested in local nature especially botany and knows all the local plants.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use