Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 5902
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

St Germier
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3
Persons: 2- 4 people
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 5902
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 15, 2014

We are a still young at heart retired couple in our 60's who live in a semi-renovated house in a hamlet of 7 houses just outside St Germier. We are the only British in the hamlet, our neighbours are all French, extremely friendly and helpful and enjoy meeting our friends and helpxers.
We have 8 rescue dogs, 7 of which are Spanish Greyhounds and live with us in the house(they do have their own room with sofas so no-one misses out on seating!!!), 2 cats who live outside, several chickens and ducks, cockerels who sing every morning!!

If you love general maintenance ,gardening, planting, weeding then please come and help us!

We have two double rooms, one has a double bed , the other twin beds.
Duvets,Bedlinen and towels are provided.
A washing machine is also available.
We have a varied selection of DVD's if you don't want to watch English/French TV

Hours are flexible..25 hours per week, with week-ends free ,is most popular, but we really don't mind!If you want to work four days and have three off that is fine with us.

Helpers would be expected to share meals with us and help with day -to- day running of the household chores, including dog walking...not too far...greyhounds are very laid back, and prefer short walks. We love our helpers to take turns at cooking and love to experiment with different culinary tastes.

Wifi internet access and Skype.
A great opportunity to experience rural French life, quiet and peaceful with the occasional tractor passing by!! Bicycles are available for exploring the countryside. Niort and Poitiers are the two large cities closest to us with a wealth of history,architecture and bistros and restaurants.

Singles or couples welcome but we would prefer non-smoking helpers.
Vegetarians are welcome but we cannot accept vegans.
Sadly we are not able to accept children , no matter how well behaved they are!!!

In the photo below is one of our very laid back, happy dogs!!!
So if you are looking for somewhere friendly and relaxing this is the place to come. We enjoy healthy discussions on all topics over a beer or glass of wine, Martin is a Scrabble fanatic and just loves a challenge...He is also a music lover ....some good , some not my taste !!!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use