Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 59183
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: April to October incl.
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 59183
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 29, 2018

We are currently emerging from Winter and starting to look for 2018 volunteers. We welcome applications for April 2018 onwards till about October. (However, now fully booked for August, sorry)

Hi from a relaxed, friendly nearly-retired couple who love to 'host' and welcome our volunteers as if they were family. We are a 1 hectare smallholding with sheep, poultry, pigs (in summer), an out of control vegetable garden and plenty of 'wild' bits, in NW Roscommon. You are welcome to try some (fully supervised) livestock tasks at the appropriate times of year (moving stock, dealing with families of baby chicks, sheep shearing and foot trimming etc). We try to give guests a mix of jobs and nothing too awful! You will get mowing and tidying but also, if we can, jobs for which you have stated a preference. Our most recent volunteers asked for 'wood-work' - we had plenty.

Our house is 150 years old on the outside, 5 years old on the inside. Your room will be warm and comfortable as well as private but you will be welcome to treat all the 'common' areas like home. No wide screen TVs here but 'reasonably' fast broad-band. We have four cats and three dogs if you need a fix of pet cuddling. We are both good cooks and create lovely meals mainly from meat and veg grown here. We also love our volunteers to cook us something 'from home' if that takes their fancy.

We have honey bees and a hive, so you might be wise to check before booking that you are not badly allergic to bee stings. We would, of course, try to keep you safe, but you can never be 100% sure with bees and a sunny garden task.

We can arrange borrowed push-bikes and we are 10 mins from the nearest town by car. We are happy to drive you about within reason and would certainly collect you from Castlerea railway station or Knock Airport (which is only 25 minutes away down a quiet bog road!)

We look forward to hearing from you.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use