Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 59362
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: No
Area (ha): 0.7
Persons: 3
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 59362
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 18, 2017

We are a couple with 2 kids (6 and 4) living in a very small village in the Cordillera Cantabrica in the north of Spain, we are almost on the shore of the Ebro lake, have a "fresh" climate and beautiful celtic landscape around us.

We live in a tiny straw bale house on a piece of land of 7000m2 that i try to design and shape step by step following the principles of permaculture.
We also have a "hobbit hole"! Come and see!
We are very happy to welcome volunteers from around the world interested in alternative ways of life, permaculture, eco construction.

For practical details:
Accomodation in tent (I can lend one but better bring your own if possible)
Food is usually vegetarian but not only. Volunteers have their own space in a lean-to (3 walls and a roof) with solar shower and rocket stove for cooking.
Smoking allowed outside.
Wifi can be activated on demand.
Children allowed :-)
We have a dog, big but friendly, and hens, as a general rule we prefer not to welcome pets to avoid problems...
The little local shop is 3 km away.
We expect an average of 4 hours of work per day for food and accomodation.
We live half way between Burgos and Santander. You can come by car (4h from Madrid, 1h30 from Bilbao), little FEVE train (3h from Bilbao) and there are also ALSA buses from Santander, Burgos and Bilbao reaching Cilleruelo de Bezana where I could pick you up.

Work can vary a lot from gardening, construction, wood chopping, and of course participating in the daily chores like cooking, washing dishes or cleaning (as part of the 4h of daily work).
During your leisure time, feel free to enjoy the beautiful trekking routes around, sail (we can let you an inflatable canoe) , swim or practice some kite surf in the lake, climb on the impressive bouldering site only 4km away, visit the 9th century cave churches nearby or just chill in the garden.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use