Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 59664
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Nenagh, Co Tipperary
All Year: June and / or July
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 1 or couple
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 59664
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 2, 2017

Our house is from the 1800’s and situated on 5 acres of land (which comprises of a large garden and field / shed area). When we moved into the house it was with a view to enjoy it, renovate it and develop a garden for humans and wild life. Most of which has been accomplished, however due to a cancer battle (which I humbly won) we have slipped behind on our project and trying to claw back time and make headways into the next phase of our garden project.

We are based off a quiet country road, down a long arched lane. As you arrive to the house you will witness tree’s ranging from 100 to 300yrs. Our closest neighbours are 1km away to either side of the house. We are surrounded by fields of wheat and barley.

The location of home is on the border of Co. Offaly and Co. Tipperary, we are 16km from the towns of Roscrea and Nenagh.
Who are we?

I am Maggie 51yrs and I am married to a French chap called Stephane (Steph) 48yrs we have 3 dogs (great guys) Ty, Rocks and Bobby who are at best going to be your next best friends (so you do need to be a dog lover).

Who do we need?
We are needing a helper (or couple), ideally for the month of June (or mid-June to July) who is strong and familiar with manual labour, who knows the basics of land / gardening and not afraid to get their hands dirty. A nature and dog lover who has good ideas and can add their ideas to the projects. At times you will be working alone and at other times with me or my husband or both (depending on the task)
A general summary of the work is along the lines of
• Fence repair / painting
• Pruning Tree’s small / shrubs
• Planting small trees and shrubs
• Ivy removal from small trees that are cramped in a lane environment
• Uprooting shrubs / small trees and re-setting
• Cutting hedges / bramble
• Strimming and soil levelling, cutting undergrowth, grass clearing
• Small garden enhancement / design (laying plastic and adding stones)
• Shed reorganising (tools, equipment…)

If raining
• Room renovation (removing old plaster, levelling a floor) Painting

What’s in it for you?
• Free accommodation
• No curfew and no set time to rise.
• A double bedroom with privacy as you will be at the opposite end of the house to us (sorry the bathroom is shared) but there is a 2nd toilet down stairs)
• Access to Wi-Fi internet
• Access to television
• Access to a washing machine / clothes detergents and tumble dryer
• Access to a large book case of books on many varieties.
• Full access to the living room
• Full access to the kitchen to cook your own meals and snack as required
o However daily dinners will be provided (if desired) and I might add we are both lucky when Steph cooks (he is brilliant)
• All food provided (meat & vegetarian options)
• An ideal stay would be 2-3 weeks (or longer) to help us get back on track.
• Working hours, 5 hours a day 5 days a week
• We want you to enjoy your time to browse the countryside, read, walk and chill in the patio where we have … a variety of seats and shrubs, where birds are fed daily and sing for our pleasure.
Finally we are aware that where we live is remote and it will be our pleasure to ensure that you have lifts to and from local points of interest
• Buses and trains from Nenagh to all major Irish towns

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you require more information - thankyou ... Maggie

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use