help exchange   Host 59742
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 59742
Country: Switzerland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 29, 2020

Hello !

We need GREEN FINGERS for beginning of April spring is coming !

We are a community house and cultural and arts centre located in Schangnau Emmental Switzerland.

The house used to be an Old Mill and has now been converted into 6 apartments which we all live in and we also have a function room which we hire out to people for private functions and for when we also host are own events.

We are located in a beautiful village called Schanganu which has many many great hiking/mountain bike trails. We are also positioned right on the edge of the river Emme for a refreshing dip and we are only 1hr 15mins from the beautiful capital city of Bern. There are two shops and a butchers in the village and good public transport links to the nearest train station. The shops in the village accept most cards but the nearest ATM is a 20 minute bus ride away.

We are looking for people with a positive can do attitude and willingness to help us make this home even better. The work is never to difficult and is always completed at relaxed pace with plenty of fun.

We have a rustic room with double bed so can host a couple or solo traveler.
We look for 4 hours work a day with plenty of time off to explore this paradise.
In exchange for the work we provide 3 meals a day and plenty of tea and coffee with accommodation in a private double room.
We have access to wifi in the function room which is free to use and some meals will be eaten as a family and other times food provided to cook for yourself. There is also access to a washing machine.

All of us at the Muhle house have day jobs so sometimes the work might need to be completed on your own so must be self motivated but also many jobs will be helping one of occupants of the Muhle.

We have a maximum stay of two weeks but if the feeling is mutual between us and yourselves this can be extended.

Current projects we need help with :

Chopping and Splitting wood for next winter
Building a Bee hive for the summer
Tidying and Organizing our function room for functions

Please remember this is a rural region of Switzerland and has 4 seasons so please bring good footwear and appropriate clothing. Also always a good option to bring some old clothes for working in.

If you feel like you would like to come and help us please send us an email. My name is Edd and i will do my best to check my email at least once a week.

I am originally from Wales and after traveling around the world for 5 years i came to Muhle house myself as a volunteer for two weeks and have now lived here for 2 years renting an apartment and building myself a life in Schangnau !! This really is a special place !

we look forward to hearing from you !

Muhle House

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use