Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 59754
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 50000
Persons: 1 to 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 59754
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 15, 2017

Our family is located on a Cattle property in Central Highlands, Central Queensland (50,000 acres and approx. 2000 head of cattle plus progeny). Our kids are home schooled - and we are looking for helpers...
1. NEEDED CARPENTOR / BUILDER ASAP- painting work - we are trying to finish off renovations and reconstruct renovate dongas into accommodation/living quarters / home
2. House work / house keeper - as we all work it is difficult to keep up to date with the house chores
3. Governess Position (filled until term4) a home tutor/Governess/nanny for our home school classroom of 3 students (Prep, Yr1 & Yr6) there is also one independently doing Yr10.
4. Fencing house yard and paddocks
5. Vegetable garden to be established
6. Lots of fun memories to be created in the Aussie outback with mustering, drafting, fencing, hunting, cattle, horses, Bon fire and just living the good life.
We have facilities to accommodate for single, couple or maybe a small family. There is plenty of work to do on our property from gardening to fencing to renovating and building more accommodation. As we all have full time jobs the list is just getting longer. So why not give someone the opportunity to experience outback Aussie life first hand doing all the things country people do :)
A friend recommended Helpx to us as the people they have come stay are awesome and they have made some amazing friends and new additions to their family from all over the world. Which I think would be awesome.
My husband is 45 and property manager and I am 38 a full time high school teacher-we have two kids-the youngest two, girl 4 and boy 6. My dad also lives with us with his two kids-my siblings-the older two kids, boy 11 and girl 15. Dad also works at the same school I do, teaching yr 7/8.
There are many different opportunities for work experience to be had from fencing, to cattle work and horse riding, hunting and mustering, building and machinery. For the Govie position we would prefer someone with teacher/teacher aid/classroom experience and/or computer skills. (This is a negotable paid position.) People who are switched on, honest trustworthy reliable down to earth and able to be apart of a family oriented environment will fit right in with this Aussie outback family. There are opportunities to learn about the everyday running of family farm life on a cattle property.
On our property we have cattle, horses, pigs, cats, dogs, chooks, guinea pigs, guinea fowls, birds and gold fish. We like fishing, camping and sitting round the camp fire at home and all aspects of bush life plus I like going to the beach ever now and then when I can and the shopping lol well sometimes that's just another annoying job. So if you like the sound of us we'd like to hear from you.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use