Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 60086
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Granada Provincia
All Year: All year
Area (ha): 0.8
Persons: Maximum 6
Category: Other
Host ID: 60086
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 30, 2018

Please read this before contacting! Then you will know what we are doing at that time of year, and whether that is something you would like to do . . .

We are a young married couple with a baby, Thalia, who was born at our home in November 2017. Currently we live with Thalia, 2 cats & a dog. Seasonally we love help with olive and almond harvests, acecia clearing, pool cleaning, strimming, seed planting, fruit harvesting, pruning trees and more.

We knew a little bit more than nothing about farming or gardening when we moved here, and now we know a little bit more than that! We love learning, gardening, music, yoga and meeting new interesting friends.

There are specific times of year when we need more help on the land planting, harvesting and developing our permaculture & forest gardens -

At the beginning of January we will need help with the olive harvest, we have 40 trees, all farmed organically, and we can't do them all by ourselves! We can offer volunteers some of their own delicious olive oil to take home with them.

In late February we will need help preparing the ground for our May planting, if all goes to plan we will be digging in the green manure plants such as wheat, rye and broad beans which we planted the year before.

In the beginning of May we need a small team to help us plant out tomatoes, peppers, cucumbers, melons and other plants for our summer vegetable garden.

In September we will need help planting out ground cover for the winter such as broad beans, rye and wheat, and harvesting and preparing almonds. We can offer volunteers some of their own tasty organic grown almonds to take home with them.

We are slowly building infrastructure to host yoga retreats. Helpers with experienced skills in compost toilet building, irrigation, water systems, plumbing, carpentry, building, wood carving, path laying, stone wall building, step building, landscaping, gardening, and dog training/walking are especially welcome.

We offer exchange of 5 hours work a day for accommodation & vegetarian meals. Our accommodation is in a yurt or campervan sharing facilities with us in the house during set times each day. When you get in touch we can email you our work schedule.

We share our kitchen/cooking & solar shower facilities with you in the house, making meals together when possible so we all eat 3 healthy meals a day. We provide 3 meals for 5 hours work exchange per day.

Please let us know how long you would like to stay, the shortest time we will accept is 3 days, up to 2 weeks is fine, and we are open to discussion for longer stays.

There's a herbolaria in Cadiar (20minutes drive from Yegen) where you can buy yourself specialist food products. A van selling fish comes to Yegen most days and there's a famous ham shop in Yegen called Jamon Muñoz if you are in need of meat or gifts to take home.

For accommodation we have one Mongolian yurt, a campervan converted from an old ambulance, and a tent for two. We can provide all bedding and request a small fee for washing at the laundrette during dry season. This is an off grid home with careful use of water, especially during the dry season & reduced power during rains.

Yoga lessons, meditation, and massage training are available with us. We aim to offer a comfortable stay whilst working together to improve our facilities for future guests. We'd love to build a solar compost toilet, outdoor shower, shared kitchen, shaded rest areas and a beautiful yoga shala. Step by step.

The land is peaceful, in beautiful nature over looking the mountains. Yegen has a small Coveiran shop, a gift shop, bars, pharmacy and doctors within 15-20minutes hiking or 4x4 driving route. You need to be fit and in reasonably good health to enjoy this landscape.
The nearest bank, post office, hospital and other facilities are 20minutes drive from Yegen in Cadiar or Ugijar. There are two buses a day to and from Yegen so please plan your journies effectively. For an additional cost it maybe possible to arrange some transport by car.

We have wifi in the house which can be used between 2-4pm daily.
Smoking is permitted in specific areas, outdoors only. Due to fire risks in this region we ask you to be very careful.
Outdoor fires are strictly forbidden in this region for good reason.
Children are very welcome under adult supervision.
Pets are not allowed.

During free time you can visit the southern beaches or Granada city within 2 hours drive from Yegen. You can visit the Sierra Nevada, come to our yoga classes, go hiking and much more. Benny, our dog also loves to join people on walks!

From July to the end of August public swimming pools are open near to Mecina Bomberon, in Ugijar and Cadiar, the cost is around 2€ per person. You can also take a dip in cold natural spring pools nearby. There are many fiestas and you can find details online.

We look forward to meeting you and learning together on the land.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use