Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 6017
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Monforte, Galicia
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.3
Persons: 1, sometimes 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 6017
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 8, 2018

A man with construction/gardening/carpentry experience would be great to use a chainsaw, cut the grass, dig up rocks, and stack wood.
We also need someone to proofread,illustrate and edit the books we're writing, and help publish them. We could take you now.
Galicia is green, beautiful and peaceful - like England 50 years ago. The house is a 17th century stone cottage with four bedrooms and two bathrooms. We've already had help creating a medieval Great Hall - borders, frescoes etc - creative, artistic work, but it needs more.

The field has not been used for years, but it's now been cleared and helpers have put up a polytunnel for us and made some vegetable beds. These need constant attention all year round - planting, weeding, watering etc. The rest of the finca is a small park - more trees, paths, orchard. There is some heavy work (tree pruning, brickwork, plasterboarding), so men are preferred.
On the edge of a village, we are 4 minutes walk from bars and shops and a bus service to the local town. A swimming pool is open in the summer months. There are other Brits in the area, but the locals speak only Spanish. It's not a village with discos - it's better to be honest. But the walking scenery is excellent - Mike likes walking and running, and there is a river beach for relaxing and swimming. Thermal pools in Ourense have been popular with most helpers.We do not provide a computer for you to use, but have Wifi. The village has free internet access anyway.

We don't have formal work schedules. We expect you to muck in and be part of the family and do what is required, but we're flexible. In return we expect to feed you (I should point out that we do NOT cater for vegetarians or anyone who has particular dietary needs - tell us if there's anything you don't eat.) and take you around to see the countryside, castles, monasteries etc. and meet other Brits and Spanish, and for you to help us with day to day activities.
We have ADSL, and British TV, and we live comfortably. We, Mike and John and Porage (the cat), have been here for ten years.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use